JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1935, to December 31, 1935

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana





CITY OFFICIALS

AS OF DECEMBER, 1935

Mayor	.JOHN W. KERN
Secretary to Mayor	
City ClerkDANIE	L J. O'NEILL, JR.
Deputy City Clerk	

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

City Controller	WALTER C.	BOF	ETCHER
Deputy City Controller			

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	
Assistant City Attorney	
City Prosecutor	
Investigator, Claim	
Attorney for Health Board	
Attorney for Sanitary Board	
Attorney for Park Board	

DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER

City Civil Engineer	HENRY B. STEEG
Assistant City Engineer	M. G. JOHNSON
Street Department Head	JAMES E. LOER
Clerical Department Head	JOHN A. WEINBRECHT
Sewer Department Head	CHAS. A. BROWN
Flood Prevention Head	
Inspectors Department Head	WM. H. HOLL
Superintendent of Street Repair	JOHN BERRY
Chemical Laboratory Head	C. H. UNDERWOOD
Street Lighting Superintendent	JOHN NOONAN
Drafting Department Head	FRANK KOSHMIDER

POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police	MICHAEL F. MORRISSEY
Chief of Detectives	FRED E. SIMON
Captain of Traffic Department	LEWIS L. JOHNSON
Secretary to Chief	ALBERT SCHLENSKER

FIRE DEPARTMENT

FIRE DEFARIMENT		
Chief.FRED C. KENNEDYFirst Assistant Chief.HARRY H. FULMERFirst Assistant Chief.ROSCOE McKINNEYSecretary.HARRY R. GOULD		
FIRE PREVENTION DEPARTMENT		
Chief		
		
PURCHASING DEPARTMENT		
Purchasing Agent		
· ·		
BUILDING DEPARTMENT		
Commissioner		
BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSMENT BUREAU		
Chief Clerk		
4		
STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT		
Street Commissioner		
MATINICADA LA ADDODE		
MUNICIPAL AIRPORT		
SuperintendentI. J. DIENHART		

DEPARTMENT OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

Chief Inspector	THOMAS P. TARPEY
Deputy Inspector	WILLIAM BEDEL
Deputy Inspector	MOSE RECTOR
Deputy Inspector	
Deputy Inspector	

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

City Hall	BERNARD F. KELLY
Police Station	SERGEANT JOHN FIELDS

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS AND SANITATION

President......HUBERT S. RILEY

LOUIS C. BRANDT ROBERT K. EBY MAURICE E. TENNANT

Executive Secretary......ERNEST F. FRICK

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES

President	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Vice-President	DR. CLARK ROGERS
Commissioner	DR. LEONARD ENSMINGER
Commissioner	FRANK G. LAIRD
Secretary	DR. HERMAN G. MORGAN
	GEORGE TAYLOR
Attorney	MICHAEL B. REDDINGTON

CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President	GEORGE T. O'CONNOR
Vice-President	GEORGE T. WHELDEN
MembersEDNA M. CHRISTIAN	HENRY B. STEEG
J. W. ATHERTON	PAUL E. RATHERT
WM. A. OREN	HERBERT H. BLOEMKER
HUBERT S. RILEY	LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN
Secretary-Engineer	VAL B. McLEAY

BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

President	JACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Vice-President	ALBERT H. GISLER
LOGAN C. SCHOLL	PAUL RATHERT
Superintendent	A. C. SALLEE
Auditor	LOOISE RICH

THE COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

President	EDWARD B. RAUB
Vice-President	SILAS J. CARR
Clerk	DANIEL J. O'NEILL, JR.
Deputy Clerk	FRATA McCABE

COUNCILMEN

First District	EDWARD B. RAUB
Second District	ROSS H. WALLACE
Second District	JOHN A. SCHUMACHER
Third District	NANNETTE DOWD
Third District	EDWARD R. KEALING
Fourth District	SILAS J. CARR
Fifth District	ADOLPH J. FRITZ
Sixth District	THEODORE CABLE
Sixth District	WILLIAM A. OREN

STANDING COMMITTEES COMMON COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 1935

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE—Ross H. Wallace, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, Nannette Dowd.
- PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Theodore Cable, Chairman; Ross H. Wallace, Silas J. Carr, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- 3. PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE—Silas J. Carr, Chairman; Nannette Dowd, Ross H. Wallace, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE—Adolph
 J. Fritz, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Nannette Dowd, William
 A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- 5. PARKS COMMITTEE—Nannette Dowd, Chairman; Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—William A. Oren, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Ross H. Wallace, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz.
- CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—John A. Schumacher, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz, Ross H. Wallace.
- 8. ELECTION COMMITTEE Edward R. Kealing, Chairman; John A. Schumacher, Silas J. Carr, Ross H. Wallace, Nannette Dowd.

CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

---1935---

	I	age
1.	January 1, 12:00 o'clock noon Special	1
2.	January 7, 7:30 p. mRegular	9
3.	January 21, 7:30 p. mRegular	17
4.	February 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	29
5.	February 18, 7:30 p. mRegular	45
6.	February 21, 4:00 p. mSpecial	73
7.	March 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	81
8.	March 18, 7:30 p. mRegular	109
9.	April 1, 7:30 p. mRegular	125
10.	April 15, 7:30 p. mRegular	141
11.	May 6, 7:30 p. m	161
12.	May 20, 7:30 p. m	205
13.	May 22, 4:00 p. mSpecial	241
14.	June 3, 7:30 p. m	249
15.	June 17, 7:30 p. m	265
16.	July 1, 7:30 p. m	289
17.	July 15, 7:30 p. mRegular	317
18.	August 5, 7:30 p. mRegular	357
19.	August 19, 7:30 p. mRegular	405
20.	August 21, 4:00 p. mSpecial	521
21.	September 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	525
22.	September 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	637
23.	October 7, 7:30 p. mRegular	661
24.	October 21, 7:30 p. mRegular	693
25.	November 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	721
26.	November 18, 7:30 p. mRegular	765
27.	December 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	797
28.	December 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	829
	Total of Special Meetings in 1935	4
	Total of Regular Meetings in 1935	24