JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS

In Marion County, in the State of Indiana

SPECIAL MEETING

Tuesday, January 1, 1935. 12:00 O'Clock Noon.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber at the City Hall, Tuesday, January 1, 1935, at 12:00 o'clock noon, Daniel J. O'Neill, Jr., City Clerk, acting as temporary chairman, pursuant to the following call:

To the Members of the Common Council, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Gentlemen:

You are hereby notified that there will be a SPECIAL MEET-ING of the COMMON COUNCIL held in the Council Chamber on Tuesday, January 1, 1935, at 12:00 o'clock noon, the purpose of such SPECIAL MEETING being to elect presiding officers of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis for the year 1935, who shall serve until the first Monday of January, 1936; and the appointment

of the Council standing Committees pursuant to the laws of the State of Indiana as contained in Section 10280, Burns R. S. 1926.

Respectfully,

EDWARD B. RAUB.
ROSS H. WALLACE.
SILAS J. CARR.
ADOLPH J. FRITZ.
NANNETTE DOWD.
THEODORE CABLE.
WILLIAM A. OREN.
EDWARD R. KEALING.
JOHN A. SCHUMACHER.

I, Daniel J. O'Neill, Jr., Clerk of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, do hereby certify that I have served the above and foregoing notice to each and every member of the Common Council prior to the time of such SPECIAL MEETING, pursuant to the rules.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto affixed my signature and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

DANIEL J. O'NEILL, JR., City Clerk.

(SEAL)

Which was read.

Mr. O'Neill called the meeting to order.

The Clerk called the roll.

Present: Eight members, viz: Edward B. Raub, Ross H. Wallace, Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, Theodore Cable, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing, John A. Schumacher.

Absent: Nannette Dowd.

Mr. O'Neill announced the first business in order to be the election of a presiding officer for the year 1935. Whereupon Councilman Ross H. Wallace placed in nomination the name of Edward B. Raub, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Silas J. Carr.

Councilman Theodore Cable moved the nominations be closed, which was seconded by William A. Oren. Carried.

Mr. O'Neill declared Councilman Edward B. Raub elected President of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis for the year 1935.

Thereupon President Edward B. Raub took the chair.

President Edward B. Raub addressed the members of the Council, thanking them for his election as President of the Council.

President Edward B. Raub announced the next business in order to be election of a President Pro Tem.

Councilman John A. Schumacker placed in nomination Councilman Silas J. Carr, which was seconded by Councilman Edward R. Kealing.

Councilman Ross H. Wallace moved that the nominations be closed, which was seconded by Councilman John A. Schumacher. Carried.

President Edward B. Raub then announced the next order of business to be the election of one member of the Council to serve on the City Plan Commission.

Councilman Adolph J. Fritz placed in nomination Councilman William A. Oren, which was seconded by Councilman John A. Schumacker. Carried.

President Edward B. Raub then announced the next order of business to be the appointment of the Council Committees. The appointments announced by President Edward B. Raub were as follows:

COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 1935

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE—Ross H. Wallace, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, Nannette Dowd.
- 2. PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Theodore Cable, Chairman; Ross H. Wallace, Silas J. Carr, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacker.
- 3. PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE Silas J. Carr, Chairman; Nannette Dowd, Ross H. Wallace, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- 4. PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE—Adolph J. Fritz, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Nannette Dowd, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- 5. PARKS COMMITTEE—Nannette Dowd, Chairman; Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- 6. LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—William A. Oren, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Ross H. Wallace, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz.
- 7. CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—John A. Schumacher, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz, Ross H. Wallace.
- 8. ELECTION COMMITTEE Edward R. Kealing, Chairman; John A. Schumacher, Silas J. Carr, Ross H. Wallace, Nannette Dowd.

On motion of Councilman Ross H. Wallace, seconded by Councilman Theodore Cable, the Common Council adjourned at 12:30 p. m., January 1, 1935.

We hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a full, true and complete record of the proceedings of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, held on the 1st day of January, 1935, at 12:00 noon.

In Witness Whereof we have hereunto subscribed our signatures and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

President

Attest:

(SEAL)

Sauce g. Oneis gr.

Ofty Clef