MINUTES OF THE BUSINESS MEETING SATURDAY, MARCH 21, 2015 JW MARRIOTT, INDIANPOLIS, IN

The meeting was called to order at 5:20 pm

President **Arden Bement** called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. He thanked the attendees for participating in the meeting.

President Arden then brought the bylaw change recommended by the Council pertaining to section leadership to the membership for a vote to amend the bylaw (printed below).

Proposed Bylaw for Article IX, Section 3: Each section shall have a chair to preside at meetings and to contact section members when necessary and a vice chair who will act in place of the chair and accede to chair if necessary. The vice chair shall be elected in the section business meeting at each annual meeting to serve one year as vice chair (chair-elect) and then one year as chair. If necessary the President may appoint a chair to a section without a chair or vice chair.

Arden called for a vote. The proposed bylaw passed by voice vote.

Following the vote to amend the bylaws, the section chairs reported on the activities of the section meetings during the day and named section chairs and vice chairs for 2015–2016.

Anthropology

Chair – Robert Mahaney
Vice Chair – Helen Brandt

Botany

Chair – D. Blake Janutolo Vice Chair – Darrin Rubino

Cell Biology

Chair – **Jennifer Kowalski** Vice Chair – **Eric Rubenstein**

Chemistry

Chair – Jennifer Holt Vice Chair – Mahamud Subir

Earth Science

Chair – James Farlow Vice Chair – Solomon Isiorho

Ecology

Chair – Jason Hoverman Vice Chair – Elizabeth Flaherty

Engineering

Chair – Terry West Vice Chair – Nils I. Johansen

Environmental Quality

Chair – Charles G. Crawford Vice Chair – Aubrey Bunch

Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Chair – **David Treves**Vice Chair – **Pamela Pretorius**

Physics and Astronomy

Chair – Eric Hedin

Vice Chair - Antonio Cancio

Plant Systematics and Biodiversity

Chair – Scott Namestnik Vice Chair – Alice Heikens

Science Education

Chair - TBN

Vice Chair - TBN

Zoology and Entomology

Chair – **Brad Poteat**

Vice Chair – Kristi Bugajski

Following section reports, the results of the elections for officers and committee members were announced:

President Elect – **Darrin Rubino** (2015-2016) Secretary – **Vanessa Quinn** (2015-2018)

Foundation Committee – **Stan Burden** (2015-

2018)

Council Member – **Horia Petrache** (2015-2017)

Research Grants – **Darrell Schulze** (2015-

Research Grants – **James Mendez** (2015-2018)

The date of the next annual meeting of the Indiana Academy of Science was announced to be

March 26, 2016, at the JW Marriott in Indianapolis.

President Arden Bement introduced the incoming President **Mike Homoya** and passed the gavel.

President- Elect Mike Homoya then made a few comments and thanked Arden for leadership during the past year and **Delores Brown** for organizing and planning the meeting. He said he looks forward to being president.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:49 pm. A wine and cheese reception followed.

Respectfully submitted, Mike Foos IAS Secretary