## HISTORY OF SCIENCE

Chairman: W. E. EDINGTON, DePauw University

Dr. C. A. Behrens, Purdue University, was elected chairman of the section for 1947.

## ABSTRACTS

The First Five Years of the Indiana Academy of Science. WILL E. EDINGTON, DePauw University.—The Indiana Academy of Science was organized on December 29, 1885, following a call issued by the Brookville Society of Natural History some months previously. The Brookville Society was organized in 1881, and was one of a number of similar societies that had been organized in various towns in Indiana at different times in the 1870's and 1880's, had flourished for a time and had become inactive. Amos W. Butler was the principal founder of the Academy, but he had the enthusiastic backing of David Starr Jordan, the two Coulter brothers, Richard Owen, Ryland T. Brown, and others. The Proceedings of the Academy were first published in 1891, and the purpose of this report is to describe the work of the Academy preceding 1891. The report will eventually be published as a part of the Academy sponsored volume, "Indiana Men of Science," the material for which is now being compiled.