

Proceedings of the Indiana Academy of Science



VOLUME 116 2007 **NUMBER 2**

PROCEEDINGS OF THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The *PROCEEDINGS* OF THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE is a journal dedicated to promoting scientific research and the diffusion of scientific information, to encouraging communication and cooperation among scientists, and to improving education in the sciences.

EDITOR: James W. Berry, Department of Biological Sciences, Butler University, Indianapolis, Indiana 46208. Telephone: (317)-940-9344; FAX: (317)-940-9519; e-mail: jwberry@butler.edu

EDITORIAL BOARD: Hans O. Anderson (Indiana University, Bloomington); Robert F. Dale (Purdue University, West Lafayette); Rebecca Dolan (Butler University); Kara W. Eberly (St. Mary's College); Uwe J. Hansen (Indiana State University); Daryl R. Karns (Hanover College); Gene Kritsky (College of Mt. St. Joseph); Stephen A. Perrill (Butler University); Paul Rothrock (Taylor University); Thomas P. Simon (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Bloomington); Michael R. Tansey (Indiana University, Bloomington); Robert D. Waltz (Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Indianapolis); J. Dan Webster (Hanover College); Harmon Weeks (Purdue University, West Lafayette); John O. Whitaker, Jr. (Indiana State University)

THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

PRESIDENT: John Robert Schutt (Taylor University - Ft. Wayne)

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Nils I. Johansen (University of Southern Indiana) TREASURER: Edward L. Frazier (Indianapolis)

SECRETARY: Heather Bruns (Ball State University)

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Nelson R. Shaffer (Indiana Geological Survey)

ARCHIVIST: Anika Williams (Indiana State Library)

EXCHANGE ITEMS: Items sent in exchange for the *Proceedings* and correspondence concerning exchange arrangements should be sent to the Indiana Academy of Science, John S. Wright Memorial Library, 140 North Senate Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204. Questions regarding back issues or undelivered issues should be addressed to Anika Williams at awilliams@library.IN.gov. Telephone (317)-232-3686.

Cover photo: The photo was taken during the archeological study of a pioneer period house site (ca. AD 1835) known as the Reddick Site. Under the "St. Mary's Treaty" signed in 1818, native Americans surrendered the land in the central region of the new state of Indiana to European-American settlers. This site passed through several land owners and in 1903 was purchased by the United States government for use as Fort Benjamin Harrison. This area became the Fort Harrison State Park in Marion County, Indiana in 1995. The scene is the 100% surface collection of artifacts, and the orange flags mark the 1-meter units. This work was done by the Next Step Education Through Archaeology project administered by Martin University. In 2006 it was shown that the areas that were surface collected had not been plow disturbed, and may represent a natural deposit since the Pleistocene. (See related article on page 117 of this issue.)

Visit the Indiana Academy of Science website at: www.indianaacademyofscience.org

Publication date: 31 December 2007

This paper meets the requirement of ANSI/NISO Z39.48-1992 (Permanence of Paper).