## FEDERAL JUDGES FOR THE Indiana Territory, District of Indiana, AND Southern District of Indiana

#### CONSTITUTIONAL (ARTICLE III) JUDGES WITH DATES OF COMMISSION

## **UNITED STATES TERRITORIAL COURT FOR THE INDIANA TERRITORY**

(Created on October 6, 1800 with the establishment of the Indiana Territory.)

William Clark John Griffin Henry Vanderburgh Thomas T. Davis Weller Taylor Benjamin Parke James Fisk James Scott October 6, 1800 October 6, 1800 October 6, 1800 February 8, 1803 April 16, 1806 April 23, 1808 July 2, 1812 February 1, 1813

#### **UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF INDIANA**

(Created on March 6, 1817, replacing the territorial court when Indiana was admitted as a state.)

Benjamin Parke Jesse Lynch Holman Elisha Mills Huntington Caleb Blood Smith Albert Smith White David McDonald Walter Quintin Gresham William A. Woods John Harris Baker Albert Barnes Anderson Robert C. Baltzell Thomas Whitten Slick March 6, 1817 September 16, 1835 May 2, 1842 December 22, 1862 January 18, 1864 December 13, 1864 December 21, 1869 May 2, 1883 March 29, 1892 December 8, 1902 January 13, 1925<sup>1</sup> February 17, 1925<sup>2</sup>

- 1. Assigned to the newly-created Southern District on April 21, 1928.
- 2. Assigned to the newly-created Northern District on April 21, 1928.

## UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

(Created on April 21, 1928 when the state was split into northern and southern districts.)

Robert C. Baltzell	April 21, 1928
William E. Steckler	April 7, 1950
Cale James Holder	August 6, 1954
S. Hugh Dillin	September 22, 1961
James E. Noland	November 3, 1966
Gene E. Brooks	October 5, 1979
Sarah Evans Barker	March 14, 1984
Larry J. McKinney	July 27, 1987
John Daniel Tinder	August 10, 1987
David F. Hamilton	October 11, 1994
Richard L. Young	March 25, 1998

# STATUTORY (ARTICLE I) JUDGES

WITH DIVISION ASSIGNMENTS AND DATES OF APPOINTMENT

## **MAGISTRATE JUDGES**

John A. Cody, Jr.	(part-time)	New Albany	May 27, 1971 <sup>3</sup>
Robert W. Geddes	(part-time)	Indianapolis	May 27, 1971 <sup>₄</sup>
Thomas J. Faulconer		Indianapolis	May 27, 1971
D. Joe Gabbert	(part-time)	Terre Haute	May 27, 1971
Joseph W. Annakin	(part-time)	Evansville	May 27, 1971
John Paul Godich		Indianapolis	October 1, 1973
David Miller	(part-time)	Evansville	1976
J. Patrick Endsley		Indianapolis	January 2, 1979
Jordan D. Lewis	(part-time)	Terre Haute	May 15, 1979
Kennard P. Foster		Indianapolis	May 16, 1986
Brian Williams	(part-time)	Evansville	1986
William G. Hussmann, Jr.		Evansville	April 4, 1988
V. Sue Shields		Indianapolis	January 28, 1994
Michael Naville	(part-time)	New Albany	November 23, 1995
Tim A. Baker		Indianapolis	October 1, 2001
William Lawrence		Indianapolis	November 11, 2002

4. Appointed as a commissioner in June, 1966.

<sup>3.</sup> Appointed as a commissioner in 1956.

#### **BANKRUPTCY JUDGES**

Nicholas W. Sufana Richard W. Vandivier Robert L. Bayt Michael H. Kearns Frank J. Otte Basil H. Lorch III Anthony J. Metz III James K. Coachys

1979<sup>5</sup> 1979<sup>6</sup> 1979<sup>7</sup> February 14, 1980 October 1, 1986 April 14, 1992 November 14, 1997 October 1, 2000

#### **CLERKS OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR** THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA WITH DATES OF APPOINTMENT

Albert Sogemeier	1928
Maurice Graston	1939
Robert Newbold	1941
Arthur Beck	1969
William Heede	1977
John A. O'Neal	1984
A. Victoria Thevenow	1994
Geraldine Treutelaar Crockett	1995
Laura A. Briggs	1998

#### **CLERKS OF THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR** THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA WITH DATES OF APPOINTMENT

Sam Conner	1980
Dennis Burton	1989
John O'Neal	1994

- 5. Appointed as a bankruptcy referee in 1963.
- 6. Appointed as a bankruptcy referee in 1973.
- 7. Appointed as a bankruptcy referee on March 7, 1977.

#### CHIEF UNITED STATES PROBATION OFFICERS WITH DATES OF APPOINTMENT

Harvey L. Hire	May 3, 1951
Knute F. Dobkins	January 22, 1964
Woodrow Wilson (Woody) Pence	December 29, 1973
Edward Parks	September 12, 1978
David H. Sutherlin	November 1, 1981
Frank D. Hall, Jr.	March 1, 1983
Barbara J. Roembke	August 12, 2002