JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

In Marion County, in the State of Indiana







INITIAL MEETING

Sunday, January 1, 1956 12:00 o'clock P.M.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis met in the Council Chamber in the City Hall, Sunday, January 1, 1956 at 12:00 o'clock P.M. CST.

The newly elected City Clerk, Teresa F. Laffey, temporarily sitting in the President's chair in the Common Council chambers in the City Hall in the City of Indianapolis, announced that following the City General Election of November 8, 1955, the Election Canvassing Board had issued election certificates to the following successful candidates:

Phillip L. Bayt, Mayor;

Christian J. Emhardt, Mary M. Francis, Thomas P. McGill, Roscoe McKinney, Joseph C. Wallace and William H. Williamson, majority members, and Joseph E. Bright, Gladys C. Pohlmann and Charles W. Applegate, minority members of the Indianapolis City Council;

Teresa F. Laffey, City Clerk.

The City Clerk then announced that Phillip L. Bayt as Mayor had filed his certificate of election and had taken the oath endorsed thereon and had assumed his duties as Mayor of the City and that she, as City Clerk, had done likewise, and that it was now in order for the duly elected

members of the Common Council to assume their offices, they likewise having filed their certificates of election and taken the oath endorsed thereon.

The City Clerk stated that the following call had been given to the newly elected members of the Council:

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA.

Gentlemen:

You are hereby notified that there will be a SPECIAL MEETING of the COMMON COUNCIL held in the Council Chamber on January 1, 1956 at 12:00 o'clock P.M., CST, the purpose of such SPECIAL MEETING being to elect officers of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis for the year 1956, who shall serve until the first Monday of January, 1957; and appointment of the Council's standing Committees, pursuant to the laws of the State of Indiana as contained in Section 48-1403, Burns R. S. 1933.

Respectfully,

PHILLIP L. BAYT Mayor.

I, Teresa F. Laffey, Clerk of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, do hereby certify that I have served the above and foregoing notice to each and every member of the Common Council prior to the time of such SPECIAL MEETING, pursuant to the rules.

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto affixed my signature and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

TERESA F. LAFFEY

[SEAL]

City Clerk.

Which was read.

The Chairman called the meeting to order.

The Deputy Clerk called the roll.

Present: Mr. Applegate, Mr. Bright, Mrs. Francis, Mr. McGill, Mr. McKinney, Mrs. Pohlmann, Mr. Wallace, Mr. Williamson, Mr. Emhardt.

The Clerk announced that pursuant to the rules of the Common Council heretofore ordained, the first order of business would be for the organization of the Council and the election of Council officers and asked for nominations for President of the Council.

Mr. Wallace made a motion to nominate Mr. Emhardt. The motion was seconded by Mr. McKinney, and a motion was made by Mrs. Francis and seconded by Mr. Williamson that the nominations be closed and the Clerk instructed to cast the unanimous vote of those present for Mr. Emhardt. The vote was cast as directed and the acting Chairman announced the election of Mr. Emhardt as President of the Council for the year 1956. On invitation of Mrs. Laffey, Mr. Emhardt took the chair.

President Emhardt asked for nominations for the office of Vice-President. Mr. Williamson nominated Mr. Wallace. The nomination was seconded by Mrs. Francis. Mr. Williamson moved that the nominations be closed and the same was seconded by Mrs. Francis. Mrs. Francis moved that the Clerk be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Mr. Wallace and Mr. McGill seconded the motion. The vote was cast as directed and President Emhardt announced the election of Mr. Wallace as Vice-President by the unanimous vote of the Council.

MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

President Emhardt announced the appointment of Standing Committees as selected for the year 1956, as follows:

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE Joseph C. Wallace, Chairman; Thomas R. McGill, Roscoe A. McKinney, William H. Williamson, Mary M. Francis.
- 2. PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Thomas R. Mc-Gill, Chairman; William H. Williamson, Joseph C. Wallace, Charles W. Applegate, Gladys C. Pohlmann.
- 3. PUBLIC SAFETY AND AVIATION COMMITTEE —Roscoe A. McKinney, Chairman; Thomas R. McGill, William H. Williamson, Joseph E. Bright, Gladys C. Pohlmann.
- 4. PUBLIC HEALTH COMMITTEE—William H. Williamson, Chairman; Joseph C. Wallace, Mary F. Francis, Joseph E. Bright, Charles W. Applegate.
- 5. PARKS COMMITTEE—Mary M. Francis, Chairman; Roscoe A. McKinney, Thomas R. McGill, Gladys C. Pohlmann, Charles W. Applegate.
- 6. LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—Charles W. Applegate, Chairman; Joseph E. Bright, Joseph C. Wallace, Thomas R. McGill, William H. Williamson.
- 7. CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—Joseph E. Bright, Chairman; Charles W. Applegate, Roscoe A. McKinney, Mary M. Francis, Joseph C. Wallace.
- 8. ELECTION COMMITTEE—Gladys C. Pohlmann, Chairman; Joseph E. Bright, Mary M. Francis, Roscoe A. McKinney, Thomas R. McGill.

On motion of Mr. Bright, seconded by Mr. McKinney, the Common Council adjourned at 12:30 P.M. CST.

We hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a full, true and complete record of the proceedings of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, held on the 1st day of January, 1956, at 12:00 P.M. CST.

In Witness Whereof, we have hereunto subscribed our signatures and caused the seal of the City of Indianapolis to be affixed.

ATTEST:

Christian Comhardt
President.

(SEAL)

City Clerk.