MONMAPOLIS BAR ASSOCIATION LIBRARY
JANUARY, 1921, BY
CITY OF INDIANAPOLISMODALEN

PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## Common Council, Board of Aldermen,

AND THE

Joint Conventions of Said Bodies,

May 9th, 1881, to and including May 30th, 1882.

FROM

HON. DANIEL W. GRUBBS, MAYOR, PREST. C. C. HON. JAMES T. LAYMAN, PRESIDENT B. OF A.

INDIANAPOLIS:

JOURNAL COMPANY, CITY PRINTERS.

1882.

INDIANA LAN SUHOOL INDIANAPOLIS LAW

LIBRARY

## Jak to

## ROSTER OF CITY OFFICERS.

## 1881-1882.

Mayor-DANIEL W. GRUBBS (from May 12, 1881).

City Clerk—JOSEPH T. MAGNER.

Deputy City Clerhs—GEO. T. BREUNIG (also, Clerk Board of Aldermen),
FRANK W. RIPLEY, and WILLIAM C. PHIPPS.

City Treasurer—WILLIAM G. WASSON (to August 31, 1881).
ISAAC N. PATTISON (from September 1, 1881).
Deputy City Treasurer—FRANCIS A. BLANCHARD.

City Assessor - MILLARD F. CONNETT.

City Marshal—RICHARD S. COULTER.

Deputy City Marshal—JOSEPH R. FORBES.

City Attorney—JOHN A. HENRY (to December 31, 1881). CALEB S. DENNY (from January 1, 1882).

City Civil Engineer—ROBERT M. PATTERSON (to May 31, 1881).
SAMUEL H. SHEARER (from June 1, 1881).

City Street Commissioner-LEANDER A. FULMER.

City Market-Master, East Market—JAMES A. GREGG (to December 31, 1881).
ORVILLE B. RANKIN (from January 1, 1882).

City Market-Master, West Market--ABRAHAM L. STONER.

City Weigher, East Market-IESSE DEHAVEN.

City Wood-Measurer, East Market—MASTEN DASHIEL (to August 22, 1881).

JONAS F. PARKER (from January 1, 1882).

City Sexton—ROBERT TURNER (to December 31, 1881). FIELDING HOUSTON (from January 1, 1882).

City Janitor-JOSEPH RAIBLE.

City Commissioners—JAMES C. YOHN, WM. HADLEY, GEORGE W. HILL, NEWTON KELLOGG, and MICHAEL STEINHAUER.

Board of Health-Drs. JOHN A. SUTCLIFFE, ELIJAH S. ELDER, and MOSES T. RUNNELS.

Board of Public Improvements-Councilmen DEAN, MORRISON, and COWIE.

Dispensary Board—Councilmen WARD, COLE, and EGGER.

Superintendent—CALEB A. RITTER, M. D. (to December 31, 1881).

JOHN J. GARVER, M. D. (from January 1, 1882).

"spital Board—Councilmen BRYCE, MAUER, and BEDFORD. Superintendent—WILLIAM N. WISHARD, M. D.

ire Board—Councilmen THALMAN, YOKE, and REICHWEIN.
Chief Fire Engineer—JOHN G. PENDERGAST (to December 31, 1881).
JOSEPH H. WEBSTER (from January 1, 1882).

Police Board—Councilmen PEARSON, STOUT, and BRUNDAGE.

Chief of Police—ROBERT C. WILLIAMSON.

Captains of Police—TIMOTHY SPLAN, ROBERT CAMPBELL, CHRISTOPHER MCGREGOR, and EDWARD W. NICHOLSON.

INOPIS, BAR ASSC.

5/24/12