PROCEEDINGS OF JOINT CONVENTION.

FIRST SESSION-MAY 13, 1881.

The Common Council and Board of Aldermen of the City of Indianapolis convened in First Joint Convention in the Council Chamber, on Friday evening, May 13th, A. D. 1881, at eight o'clock, in compliance with the provisions of section four of the following enactment of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, approved March 8th, 1881:

An Acr supplementary to an act approved March 14th, 1867, entitled, "An Act to repeal all general laws now in force for the incorporation of cities, and to provide for the incorporation of cities, prescribing their powers and rights, and the manner in which they shall exercise the same, and to regulate such other matters as pertain thereto."

It appearing from an informal count that a quorum was present, on motion, Hon. James T. Layman, President of the Board of Aldermen, was called to the chair, to serve as presiding officer until the Joint Convention could be permanently organized.

Alderman Layman, on assuming the chair, announced that the first business in order would be the election of a President and Secretary, to serve as such in all the Joint Conventions held during the ensuing term-

Alderman Tucker placed in nomination Hon. Daniel W. Grubbs, Mayor, for President of this Joint Convention for the ensuing term.

Councilman Fultz placed in nomination Councilman James T. Dowling.

Chairman Layman appointed Councilman Ward and Alderman Wood as tellers.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Hon. Daniel W. Grubbs, Mayor, received 26 votes, and Councilman Dowling received 6 votes.

Hon. Daniel W. Grubbs, Mayor, having received a majority of all the votes cast, was declared President of the Joint Conventions for the ensuing term.

President Grubbs having taken the chair, stated that the next business in order would be the election of a permanent Secretary.

sig. 4. [27]

Alderman Hamilton placed in nomination Joseph T. Magner, City Clerk.

On motion by Alderman Tucker, the Clerk was instructed to cast the unanimous vote of the Joint Convention.

Joseph T. Magner was then declared the permanent Secretary of this Joint Convention, to serve as such for the ensuing term.

President Grubbs directed the Secretary to call the roll of the members of the Common Council and Board of Aldermen; which being done, the following members of the Joint Convention were found to be present, viz:

Councilmen Bedford Brundage, Bryce, Caylor, Cole, Cowie, Coy, Dean, Dowling, Egger, Fultz, Harrold, Hartmann, Knodel, Koller, Mauer, Morrison, Pearson, Reichwein, Stout, Thalman, Ward, Weaver, and Yoke—24.

Aldermen DeRuiter, Drew, Hamilton, Mussmann, Newman, Seibert, Tucker,

Wood, and President Layman-9.

Total present—33.

ABSENT-2, viz. Councilman Pritchard and Alderman Rorison.

His Honor, President Grubbs, read section four of the legislative act (title recited above), and called especial attention to the following provision of the same:

"For the appointment of such officers and boards as are appointed from the members of the Common Council, and required or authorized by act of the General Assembly or ordinances of the city, the Common Council and Board of Aldermen shall meet in Joint Convention, in the Council Chamber, on the first Friday evening after the the first annual meeting of the Common Council, at eight o'clock, and shall proceed to the election of such officers and boards by ballot, and such Joint convention may adjourn from time to time until its work is completed, and all such officers and boards so elected shall serve during their term of office as Councilmen, and until their successors are elected and qualified."

By request, the City Attorney gave it as his opinion "that the present Joint Convention, under existing ordinances of the city, and the above recited legislative act, could legally proceed to the election of the various boards of the city, consisting of three members each from the Common Council, and to serve as such during their term of office as Councilmen, and until their successors are elected and qualified."

On motion by Alderman Hamilton, the Joint Convention proceeded to the election of the members of the official boards.

His Honor, the President, appointed Alderman Wood and Councilman Dowling as tellers.

Nominations were then made and the balloting proceeded with, as follows:

For Police Board.—Alderman Drew nominated Councilmen Pearson, Stout and Brundage.

Councilman Dowling nominated Councilmen Pearson, Stout and Fultz.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Councilmen Pearson and Stout each received 33 votes; Councilman Brundage received 25 votes; and Councilman Fultz received 8 votes; blank 1.

Councilmen Pearson, Stout and Brundage having each received a majority of all the votes cast, they were declared duly elected as members of the Police Board for the ensuing term.

For Board of Public Improvements.—Alderman DeRuiter nominated Councilmen Dean, Morrison and Cowie.

Councilman Coy nominated Councilmen Dean, Morrison and Dowling.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Councilmen Dean and Morrison each received 32 votes; Councilman Cowie received 25 votes; and Councilman Dowling received 7 votes; scattering 1, blank 1.

Councilmen Dean, Morrison and Cowie having each received a majority of all the votes cast, they were declared duly elected members of the Board of Public Improvements for the ensuing term.

For Fire Board.—Alderman Hamilton nominated Councilmen Thalman, Yoke and Reichwein.

Councilman Fultz nominated Councilmen Thalman, Yoke and Harrold.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Councilman Thalman received 33 votes; Councilman Yoke received 32 votes; Councilman Reichwein received 27 votes; Councilman Harrold received 7 votes; blank 1, scattering 1.

Councilmen Thalman, Yoke and Reichwein having each received a majority of all the votes cast, they were declared duly elected as members of the Fire Board for the ensuing term.

For Hospital Board.—Alderman Seibert nominated Councilmen Bryce, Mauer and Bedford.

Councilman Dowling nominated Councilmen Bedford, Mauer and Coy.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Councilmen Bedford received 33 votes; Councilman Mauer received 32 votes; Councilman Bryce received 27 votes; Councilman Coy received 7 votes; scattering 2, blank 1.

Councilmen Bedford, Mauer and Bryce having each received a majority of all the votes cast, they were declared duly elected as members of the Hospital Board for the ensuing term.

For Dispensary Board.—Councilman Thalman nominated Councilmen Ward, Egger and Cole.

Councilman Dowling nominated Councilmen Ward, Cole and Hartmann.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows:

Councilman Ward received 32 votes; Councilman Cole received 31 votes; Councilman Egger received 25 votes; and Councilman Hartmann received 7 votes; blank 2, scattering 2.

Councilmen Ward, Cole and Egger having each received a majority of all the votes cast, they were declared duly elected as members of the Dispensary Board for the ensuing term.

Councilman Dean moved that when this Joint Convention adjourns, it adjourn to meet on call of the President.

Which motion was adopted.

On motion, the Joint Convention then adjourned.

DANIEL W. GRUBBS, Mayor,

President of Joint Convention.

Attest: Jos. T. Magner, City Clerk,
Secretary of Joint Convention.