PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

COMMON COUNCIL.

SPECIAL SESSION

CHAMBER OF THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS,

SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 1st, 1868; 2½ o'clock, p. m.

The Common Council met in special session.

Present—His Honor, the Mayor, Daniel Macauley, in the chair, and the following members:

Councilmen Cottrell, Davis, Foster, Geisel, Goddard, Henschen, Jameson, Kappes, Loomis, MacArthur, Seidensticker, Stanton and Woodburn—13.

Absent—Councilmen Brown, Burgess, Coburn, Colley and Schmidt —5.

His Honor, the Mayor, announced the special order of business to be the acceptance of the resignations of members of the City Board of Registration and the appointment of persons to fill the vacancies.

Mr. Cottrell presented the resignation of Mr. John W. Robinson, of the Seventh Ward.

Mr. Cottrell presented the resignation of Mr. Frederick Karl, of the Sixth Ward.

Dr. Woodburn presented the resignation of J. F. Ramsay and Wm. R. Blake, of the Third Ward.

Dr. Jameson presented the resignation of R. C. Davis, of the First Ward.

Mr. Stanton presented the resignations of Messrs. Affantanger and Cox, of the Fourth Ward.

Which resignations were accepted severally.

Mr. Cottrell offered the following resolution:

Resolved, That in the opinion of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, police officers, members of the Council, or any other city officer, should not occupy positions as either Inspector, Judge, Clerk or Register of any Registration or election Boards of the city, or any other election.

Mr. MacArthur moved to lay the resolution on the table.

Mr. Cottrell called for the ayes and noes.

Those who voted in the affirmative were Councilman Goddard, Jameson, Loomis, MacArthur, Seidensticker, Stanton and Woodburn—7.

Those who voted in the negative were Councilmen Cottrell, Davis, Foster, Henschen and Kappes—5.

So the resolution was laid on the table.

The following nominations for Registers were then made, and the Council elected them unanimously:

First Ward-John Reynolds.

Third Ward-Owen Williams and James H. Hedges.

Fourth Ward-James Ranahan and Wm. H. Corbally.

Sixth Ward-Gottleib Wachstetter.

Seventh Ward -John Marsee.

Eighth Ward-Henry Koch.

Ninth Ward-Philip Lehr.

On motion the Council adjourned.

DANIEL MACAULEY, Mayor.

ATTEST:

D. M. RANSDELL, City Clerk.