JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1942, to December 31, 1942

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana



CITY OFFICIALS

AS OF DECEMBER, 1942

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

City C	ontrol	le r	JAMES	E.	DEERY
Deputy	7 City	Controller	HERSCHEL	М.	TEBAY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	EDWAF	RD H.	KNIGHT
City Attorney and Attorney			
for Board of Health MI	CHAEL B.	REDI	DINGTON

ASSISTANT CITY ATTORNEYS

Board of Public Safety	OSCAR C. HAGEMIER
Board of Public Works and Sanita	tion; Board of
Park Commissioners; Board of Flo	od ControlJOHN J. COOPER
City Plan Commission; Building D	epartment; and
Common Council	ADOLPH G. EMHARDT
Compensations and Claims	
City Prosecutor	LOUIS P. M. ADAMS
Assistant City Prosecutor	FORREST W. LITTLEJOHN
Claim Agent	CAPTAIN MARTIN J. LOGAN

DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER

City Civil Engineer	MYRON G. JOHNSON
Assistant City Engineer	VAL B. McLEAY
Street Department Engineer	EARLE L. JOHNSON
Chief Clerk	HARRY D. THOMPSON
Sewer Department Engineer	RAYMOND CASSADY
Flood Control Engineer	HARVEY CASSADY
Chief of Inspection Department	JACOB DeBOLD
Superintendent of Streets	CARL DIETZ
Chemical Laboratory Engineer	C. H. UNDERWOOD
Street Lighting Superintendent	BEN FINEGOLD

POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police
Chief of DetectivesFRED E. SIMON
InspectorJESSE McMURTRY
Captain of TrafficLEOLIN M. TROUTMAN
Director of Police RadioROBERT L. BATT

FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief		HARRY H.	FULMER
First Assistant	Chief	ROSCOE M	IcKINNEY
First Assistant	Chief	ОТТО	J. PETTY
Secretary		HARRY	R GOULD

FIRE PREVENTION DEPARTMENT

Chief	BERNARD A. LYNCH
Secretary to Chief	FRANCIS McNAMARA

PURCHASING DEPARTMENT

Purchasing Agent	ALBERT	H. LOSCHE
Assistant Purchasing Agent	RICHARD	P. KORBLY

BUILDING DEPARTMENT

Commissioner	GEORGE	R. I	POPP
Structural Engineer	JOHN M	. HE	NRY

BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSMENT BUREAU

Chief	Clerk	GEORGI	E D.	YEAZEL
Senior	Clerk	CECIL	McC	ONAHAY.

STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT

Commissioner	WIL	BU	R]	H. '	WINSHIP
Chief Clerk	JOHN	Α.	W]	EIN	BRECHT

MUNICIPAL AIRPORT

Superintendent.....RAY HERNER

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

Custodian, City Hall	WILLIAM WALKER
	SERGEANT FRANK GALLAGHER
Custodian, Tomlinson Hall	WILLIAM PRINCELL
Market Master, City Market	

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF SAFETY

President	LEROY KEACH
Member	FRANK B. ROSS
Member	DONALD S. MORRIS
Secretary	EDNA H. ALLEN
Secretary	

BOARD OF WORKS AND SANITATION

President	LOUIS C. BRANDT
Vice-President	LEO F. WELCH
Member	MAURICE E. TENNANT
Member	
Secretary	

BOARD OF HEALTH AND CHARITIES

PresidentDR.	GEORGE W. KOHLSTAEDT
Vice-President	FRANK G. LAIRD
Member	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Member	DR. L. A. ENSMINGER
Secretary	DR. HERMAN G. MORGAN

BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

President	JACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Vice-President	A. H. GISLER
Member	PAUL E. RATHERT
Member	MISS GERTRUDE BROWN
Superintendent	A. C. SALLEE
Recreational Director	
Secretary	
Auditor	

CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President	GEORGE T. O'CONNOR
Vice-President	GEORGE T. WHELDEN
MembersEDNA M. CHRISTIAN	LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN
JOHN W. ATHERTON	HARMON A. CAMPBELL
MYRON G. JOHNSON	PAUL E. RATHERT
PAUL R. BROWN	LOUIS C. BRANDT
Secretary-Engineer	GEORGE F. ROOKER

COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

President	OLLIE A. BACH
Vice-President	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Clerk	JOHN M. LAYTON
Deputy Clerk	JEANNETTE R. WATSON

COUNCILMEN

First District	JOSEPH G. WOOD
Second District	HARMON A. CAMPBELL
Second District	T. A. MOYNAHAN
Third District	GUY O. ROSS
Fourth District	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Fifth District	RALPH F. MOORE
Fifth District	OLLIE A. BACH
Sixth DistrictDR	
Sixth District	F. B. RANSOM

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. COMMITTEE ON FINANCE—Ernest C. Ropkey, Chairman; F. B. Ransom, T. A. Moynahan, Joseph G. Wood, Guy O. Ross.
- 2. COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC WORKS—F. B. Ransom, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, Joseph G. Wood, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Harmon A. Campbell.
- COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY—Joseph G. Wood, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, F. B. Ransom, Harmon A. Campbell, Ralph F. Moore.
- COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES—T. A. Moynahan, Chairman; Joseph G. Wood, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Harmon A. Campbell.
- 5. COMMITTEE ON PARKS—Guy O. Ross, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, F. B. Ransom, Harmon A. Campbell, Ralph F. Moore.
- COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUDICIARY—Harmon A. Campbell, Chairman; F. B. Ransom, T. A. Moynahan, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill.
- 7. COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS—Ralph F. Moore, Chairman; T. A. Moynahan, Joseph G. Wood, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill.
- 8. COMMITTEE ON CITY'S WELFARE-Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, T. A. Moynahan, Joseph G. Wood, Ralph F. Moore.

CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

Page

		~ ~ 6 0 0
1.	January 5, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	1
2.	January 19, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	17
3.	February 2, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	33
4.	February 4, 1942, 7:30 P. MSpecial	57
5.	February 16, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	61
6.	March 2, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	85
7.	March 16, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	
8.	April 6, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	137
9.	April 10, 1942, 12:30 P. MSpecial	173
10.	April 13, 1942, 12:00 noonSpecial	177
11.	April 20, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	185
12.	May 4, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	281
13.	May 6, 1942, 7:30 P. MSpecial	301
14.	May 18, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	305
15.	June 1, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	321
16.	June 15, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	349
17.	July 6, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	381
18.	July 20, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	397
19.	August 3, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	413
20.	August 17, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	425
21.	September 7, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	517
22.	September 21, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	617
23.	October 5, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	649
24.	October 19, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	681
25.	November 2, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	701
26.	November 16, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	721
27.	December 7, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	737
28.	December 21, 1942, 7:30 P. MRegular	765