# **JOURNAL**

OF THE

# Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1947, to December 31, 1947

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana





# CITY OFFICIALS

#### And

#### **EXECUTIVE PERSONNEL**

#### AS OF DECEMBER 31, 1947

*Mayor	GEORGE L. DENNY
City Clerk	FRANK J. NOLL, JR.
Deputy Clerk	MARGARET B. JONES

<sup>\*</sup> Succeeded Robert H. Tyndall, July 9, 1947

# COMMON COUNCIL OFFICERS

President	JOHN A. SCHUMACHER
Vice-President	EDWARD R. KEALING
Clerk	
Deputy Clerk	,

#### COUNCILMEN

First District	JOHN A. SCHUMACHER
Second District	DR. LUCIAN B. MERIWETHER
Second District	WILLIAM A. BROWN
Third District	EDWARD R. KEALING
Third District	MAX WHITE
Fourth District	HERMAN E. BOWERS
Fourth District	OTTO H. WORLEY
Fifth District	A. ROSS MANLY
Sixth District	RAYMOND C. DAUSS

# OFFICE OF MAYOR

Executive Secretary to	MayorGRACE M	M. TANNER
Secretary to Mayor	DOROTHY '	THORNTON

# PERSONNEL DIVISION

*Assistant Secretary to MayorLAWI	RENCE P. PARSONS
Secretary	ELOISE KELLY

<sup>\*</sup> Resigned July 1, 1947—vacancy was not filled.

#### DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

*City ControllerCERIL S. OBER
Deputy City ControllerEARL O. MATLOCK
†Finance AuditorCHAS. A. BUCKNER
‡Supervisor of Barrett Law and
Assessment Bureau MYRTLE WHITE
\$Receiving TellerGEORGE F. KLEDER
(Deputy County Treasurer)
* George L. Denny succeeded Roy E. Hickman, April 3, 1947
Ceril S. Ober succeeded George L. Denny, July 11, 1947
† Succeeded F. A. Muehlbacher, November 8, 1947
‡ Succeeded Chas. A. Buckner, November 15, 1947
§ Succeeded William B. Peake (deceased), January 13, 1947

#### DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	_ARCH	N.	BC	BBITT
City Attorney	HEN	RY	B.	KRUG

# ASSISTANT CITY ATTORNEYS

Assistant City Attorney	O. B. HANGER
Assistant City Attorney	WM. F. HOFFMAN
Assistant City Attorney	JAMES W. INGLES
Assistant City Attorney	HARRY M. STITLE, JR.
City Prosecutor	HENRY M. COOMBS
	EUGENE YOCKEY
Claim Adjuster	CAPTAIN EDWARD E. SAMUELS

#### DEPARTMENT OF ATTORNEY—CIVIL ENGINEER

City Civil Engineer	THOMAS R. JACOBI
Assistant City Engineer	OSCAR P. OSTHOFF
Street Engineer	GILBERT E. SCHMITZ
Chief Clerk	JESSE L. MONROE
Sewer Department Engineer	RAYMOND C. CASSADY
Flood Control Engineer	SAMUEL WALKER
Superintendent of Street Repair	W. A. BRUCE
Chemical Laboratory Engineer	C. H. UNDERWOOD
Street Lighting Superintendent	ARTHUR C. HELM

#### POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police	HOWARD L. SANDERS
Chief of Detectives	JESSE P. McMURTRY
Inspector of Police	DONALD TOOLEY
Director of Police Radio	ROBERT L. BATTS

#### FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief	HARRY H. FULMER
First Assistant Chief	OTTO J. PETTY
First Assistant Chief	ROSCOE A. McKINNEY
Master Mechanic	FRANK A. BRAUN
Director of Fire Prevention	MICHAEL J. HYLAND
Secretary	HARRY R. GOULD

#### PURCHASING DEPARTMENT

Purchasing Agent	EDWARD G. HERETH
Assistant Purchasing Agent	ARTHUR C. RENICK

#### BUILDING DEPARTMENT

Commissioner \_\_\_\_CHARLES E. BACON

# STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT

Commissioner		LUI	THER	E.	TEX
Chief Clerk	_CARL	$\mathbf{w}$ .	SCHV	VE	VZER

#### WEIR COOK AIRPORT

Superinter	ndent	_PHILIP	H. R	OETTGER
Assistant	Superintendent	THEOI	OORE	TAYLOR
Chief Air	Traffic Controller		JACK	HILTON

# WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT

Chief Inspector \_\_\_\_\_MAUDE G. HABSON

#### PUBLIC BUILDING DEPARTMENT

Custodian, City Hall	WARNER JEWELL
Custodian, Police StationSERGEAN	Γ EMANUEL GEBAUER
Custodian, Tomlinson Hall	KINNEY JOHNSTON
Market Master, City Market	ROY JACKSON

# MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

#### BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

President	WILLIAM H. REMY
Member	GEORGE O. BROWNE
Member	CARSON C. JORDAN
Secretary	LENORE BUSCH
Clerk	THELMA PATTERSON

### BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS (Effective July 1, 1947)

President	BLAINE H. MILLER
Vice-President	SHERLIE A. DEMING
Member	JOSEPH B. WADE
Member	GIDEON W. BLAIN

# BOARD OF SANITARY COMMISSIONERS (Effective July 1, 1947)

President	MICHAEL	L.	FANSLER
Member	FRED N	. 1	REYNOLDS
Wember	HERRER	т	J READE

#### BOARD OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND HOSPITALS

President	FRANK G. LAIRD
Vice-President	HOWARD T. GRIFFITH
Member	DR. L. A. ENSMINGER
Member	MRS. MEREDITH NICHOLSON, JR.
Member	DR. SUMNER A. FURNISS
Health Director	DR. GERALD F. KEMPF
Secretary	DR. CHARLES W. MYERS

#### CITY HOSPITAL

SuperintendentDR.	CHARLI	ES '	W. MYERS
Assistant Superintendent	DR.	PA	UL EVANS
Business Manager	_CLYDE	E.	PARSONS

# BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

Fresident	PAUL E. RATHERT
Vice-President	GRACE M. SHOWALTER
Member	FRED HOKE
Member	JOSEPH M. BLOCH
Secretary	MARY E. GRIFFIN
Auditor	CORA E. HARTMAN
CITY PLAN COMMISSION AND BOA	RD OF ZONING APPEALS
*President	OTTO H. WORLEY
†Vice-President	RALPH SHOWALTER
Members-LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN	DONALD B. JAMESON
PAUL R. BROWN	BLAINE H. MILLER
EDNA M. CHRISTIAN	WILLIAM E. MORAN
THOMAS R. JACOBI	‡HENRY H. MORGAN
Secretary-Director	NOBLE P. HOLLISTER
Zoning Engineer	L. E. RATCLIFFE
Secretary-Clerk	LLLENA H. SWANGO
Supervising Draftsman	ELMER H. HUTSELL

<sup>\*</sup> Succeeded John W. Atherton as President June 30, 1947

#### INDIANAPOLIS BOARD OF AVIATION COMMISSIONERS

President	WILLIAM	A. ATKINS
Vice-President	JAMES A. HO	GSHIRE, JR.
Secretary	JOSEF	H G. WOOD
Member		

<sup>†</sup> Succeeded Otto H. Worley as Vice-President June 30, 1947

<sup>‡</sup> Succeeded John W. Atherton as member June 16, 1947

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

#### 1947

#### COMMON COUNCIL

- FINANCE COMMITTEE—Herman E. Bowers, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, R. C. Dauss, Dr. Lucian B. Meriwether, A. Ross Manly.
- PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Edward R. Kealing, Chairman; Herman E. Bowers, R. C. Dauss, William A. Brown, Max White.
- PUBLIC SAFETY & AVIATION COMMITTEE—R. C. Dauss, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Herman E. Bowers, Otto H. Worley, Max White.
- PUBLIC HEALTH COMMITTEE—Dr. Lucian B. Meriwether, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, A. Ross Manly, Otto H. Worley, William A. Brown.
- PARKS COMMITTEE—A. Ross Manly, Chairman; R. C. Dauss, Dr. Lucian B. Meriwether, Otto H. Worley, William A. Brown.
- LAW & JUDICIARY—Otto H. Worley, Chairman; William A. Brown, Herman E. Bowers, Edward R. Kealing, Dr. Lucian B. Meriwether.
- CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—Max White, Chairman; William A. Brown, A. Ross Manly, Dr. Lucian B. Meriwether, Herman E. Bowers.
- ELECTION COMMITTEE William A. Brown, Chairman; Max White, R. C. Dauss, Herman E. Bowers, A. Ross Manly.

# CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE

# COMMON COUNCIL

#### 1947

			Page
1.	January 1, 1947, 12:00 Noon	_Special	_ 1
2.	January 6, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 21
3.	January 20, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 53
4.	February 3, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 85
5.	February 17, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 129
6.	March 3, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 161
7.	March 17, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 193
8.	April 7, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 233
9.	April 21, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 273
10.	April 25, 1947, 4:30 P. M	_Special	_ 309
11.	May 5, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 313
12.	May 19, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 353
13.	May 27, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Special	_ 409
14.	June 2, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 417
15.	June 6, 1947, 4:00 P. M	_Special	_ 457
16.	June 16, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 469
17.	July 7, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 501
18.	July 21, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 545
19.	August 4, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 577
20.	August 18, 1947, 7:30 P. M		
21.	August 25, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Special	<del>-</del> 709
22.	September 3, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Special	_ 789
23.	September 15, 1947, 7:30 P. M.	_Regular	_ 833
24.	October 6, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 873
25.	October 20, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 921
26.	November 3, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_ 961
27.	November 17, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_1001
28.	December 1, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_1061
29.	December 15, 1947, 7:30 P. M	_Regular	_1129