JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1931 to December 31, 1931

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana





CITY OFFICIALS

As of December, 1931

Mayor	REGINALD H. SULLIVAN
	WALTER W. WATSON
City Clerk	
	MARGUERITE M. KOENIG

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

City Controller	WILLIAM L. ELDER
Deputy City Controller	FRANCIS M. COLEMAN
Deputy Auditor School Board	FRANK BRUBECK

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	EDWARD H. KNIGHT
City Attorney	JAMES E. DEERY
Assistant City Attorney	HERBERT M. SPENCER
City Prosecutor	LOUIS P. ADAMS
Claim Agent	
Attorney for Health Board	.B. HOWARD CAUGHRAN
Attorney for City Plan Commission	ALBERT STUMP
Attorney for Sanitary Board	WALTER MYERS
Attorney for Park Board	H. NATHAN SWAIM

POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police	MICHAEL F. MORRISSEY
Chief of Detectives	FRED E. SIMON
Major of Police	HERBERT R. FLETCHER
Captain of Traffic	LEWIS L. JOHNSON
Secretary to Chief	ARCH D. HINCH

FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief	
First Assistant Chief	
First Assistant Chief	FRED C. KENNEDY
Secretary	

FIRE PREVENTION BUREAU

Chief	BERNARD A. LYNCH
Secretary to Chief	ANNA E. PICKARD

PURCHASING DEPARTMENT

Purchasing Agent	.ALBERT H. LOSCHE
Assistant Purchasing Agent	
Chief Clerk	WILLIAM E. GIBSON
Inspector	JOHN A. LOGAN

BUILDING DEPARTMENT

Commissioner	WILLIAM F. HURD
Assistant Commissioner	T. D. LEE
Structural Engineer	J. M. HENRY
Combustion Engineer	GEORGE R. POPP, JR.
	THEODORE SCHORY

BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSMENT BUREAUS

Chief Clerk	MARTIN H. WALPOLE
Custodian of Bonds	GEORGE D. YEAZEL

STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT

Street Commissioner	WILBUR H. WINSHIP
Three Assistant Commissioners	ALBERT ZINS—
MICHAEL O'BRIEN—RA	LPH BAKER
Chief Clerk	WM R SCHOENROGG

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS

PresidentE.	KIRK	McKINNEY
LOUIS C. BRANDT	,	
CHARLES O. BRITTON		
Secretary	ERNES	T F. FRICK

BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

President	CHARLES	R. MYERS
FRANK C. DAILEY		
DONALD S. MORRIS		
Secretary	WALTER	O LEWIS

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES

President	EVANS WOOLLEN, JR.
Vice-President	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Commissioner	DR. HENRY S. LEONARD
Commissioner	OBIE J. SMITH
Secretary	DR. HERMAN MORGAN
Chief Clerk	JAMES SHEA
Attorney	B. HOWARD CAUGHRAN

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC PARKS

President	JACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Commissioner, Vice-President	LOGAN C. SCHOLL
Commissioner	PAUL E. RATHERT
Commissioner	DR. CARLETON B. McCULLOCH
Secretary	MARY E. GRIFFIN
Chief Clerk	CHARLES A. MYERS
Engineer	J. EDW. PERRY
Attorney	H. NATHAN SWAIM
Superintendent	
Recreation Director	.H. WALDEN MIDDLESWORTH

MUNICIPAL AIRPORT

Superintendent	CHARLES E. COX, JR.
Assistant Superintendent	E. M. JOHNSTON
Assistant Superintendent	CHARLES M. HACK

BOARD OF CITY PLAN COMMISSION

PresidentVice-President	
GRACE JULIAN CLARKE	E. KIRK McKINNEY
J. W. ATHERTON	BRUCE SHORT
PAUL E. RATHERT	A. H. MOORE
GEORGE T. WHELDEN	FRED C. GARDNER
Secretary-Engineer	H. B. STEEG
Attorney	ALBERT STUMP

DEPARTMENT OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

Chief Inspector	GROVER C. PARR
Deputy Inspector	FRED EISENHUTT
Deputy Inspector	CLARENCE STEWART
Deputy Inspector	AL. W. MILLER
Deputy Inspector	MOSE RECTOR

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

City Hall	BERNARD F. KELLY
Police Station	SERGEANT JOHN FIELDS

THE COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

President	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Vice-President	
Clerk	HENRY O. GOETT
Deputy Clerk	.MARGUERITE M. KOENIG

COUNCILMEN

First District	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Second District	JAMES A. HOUCK
Second District	MAURICE E. TENNANT
Third District	LEO F. WELCH
Third District	FRED C. GARDNER
Fourth District	CHARLES C. MORGAN
Fifth District	C. A. HILDEBRAND
Fifth District	.CLARENCE I. WHEATLEY
Sixth District	GEORGE A. HENRY

COMMON COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 1931

FINANCE COMMITTEE

James A. Houck, Chairman; Leo F. Welch, Fred C. Gardner, C. A. Hildebrand, Maurice E. Tennant.

PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

C. A. Hildebrand, Chairman; Maurice E. Tennant, Charles C. Morgan, Fred C. Gardner, Leo F. Welch.

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

Maurice E. Tennant, Chairman; Clarence I. Wheatley, Leo F. Welch, Charles C. Morgan, Fred C. Gardner.

PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE

Leo F. Welch, Chairman; James A. Houck, George A. Henry, Charles C. Morgan, Maurice E. Tennant.

PARKS COMMITTEE

Fred C. Gardner, Chairman; James A. Houck, Clarence I. Wheatley, C. A. Hildebrand, George A. Henry.

LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

George A. Henry, Chairman; Maurice E. Tennant, Clarence I. Wheatley, C. A. Hildebrand, Charles C. Morgan.

CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE

Clarence I. Wheatley, Chairman; James A. Houck, George A. Henry, C. A. Hildebrand, Fred C. Gardner.

ELECTION COMMITTEE

Charles C. Morgan, Chairman; Leo F. Welch, George A. Henry, James A. Houck, Clarence I. Wheatley.

SPECIAL COMMITTEES FOR 1931

TRAFFIC COMMITTEE

Clarence I. Wheatley, Chairman; Leo F. Welch, Maurice E. Tennant.

AIRPORT COMMITTEE

Leo F. Welch, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, Maurice E. Tennant.

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

Leo F. Welch, Chairman; James A. Houck, George A. Henry, Charles C. Morgan, Maurice E. Tennant.

Calendar of Sessions of the Common Council

	1931	Page
1.	January 5, noonSpecial	. 1
2.	January 5, 7:30 p. mRegular	
3.	January 19, 7:30 p. mRegular	. 41
4.	February 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	. 105
5.	February 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	161
6.	February 19, 1:00 p. mSpecial	
7.	March 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	
8.	March 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	
9.	April 6, 7:30 p. mRegular	. 301
10.	April 20, 7:30 p. mRegular	. 349
11.	April 23, 12:30 p. mSpecial	
12.	May 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	. 441
1 3.	May 18, 7:30 p. mRegular	
14.	May 25, 12:30 p. mSpecial	. 533
1 5.	June 1, 7:30 p. mRegular	
16.	June 11, 12:00 noonSpecial	
17.	June 15, 7:30 p. m	
18.	June 17, 6:00 p. mSpecial	
19.	July 6, 7:30 p. mRegular	
20.	July 20, 7:30 p. m	
21.	July 22, 7:30 p. mSpecial	
22.	August 3, 7:30 p. mRegular	
23.	August 17, 7:30 p. mRegular	
24.	September 7, 7:30 p. mRegular	
25.	September 21, 7:30 p. mRegular	
26.	October 5, 7:30 p. mRegular	
27.	October 19, 7:30 p. mRegular	
28.	November 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	
29.	November 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	
30.	November 27, 12:00 p. m Special	
31.	November 27, 12:15 p. m Special	
32.	December 7, 7:30 p. mRegular	
33.	December 21, 7:30 p. m Regular	
34.	December 31, 12:00 p. mSpecial	
	Total of Special Meetings in 1931	
	Total of Regular Meetings in 1931	. 24