JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

From January 1, 1934 to December 31, 1934

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana



CITY OFFICIALS

AS OF DECEMBER, 1934

	-		
MayorSecretary to Mayor City Clerk Deputy City Clerk	WALTER W. WATSON HENRY O. GOETT		
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE			
City Controller Deputy City Controller	EVANS WOOLLEN, JR. HERSCHEL M. TEBAY		
DEPARTMENT	OF LAW		
Corporation Counsel	JAMES E. DEERY HERBERT M. SPENCER JOHN E. LOFTUS CAPTAIN MARTIN LOGAN H. NATHAN SWAIM WALTER MYERS		
DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER			
City Civil Engineer Asst. City Engineer Street Department Head Clerical Department Head Sewer Department Head Flood Prevention Department Head Inspectors Department Head Superintendent of Street Repair Chemical Laboratory Head Street Lighting Head Drafting Department Head	M. G. JOHNSON CARL KORTEPETER JOHN A. WEINBRECHT HARVEY CASSADY HARVEY CASSADY WM. H. HOLL JOHN BERRY C. H. UNDERWOOD JOHN NOONAN		
POLICE DEPARTMENT			
Chief of PoliceChief of DetectivesCaptain of Traffic DepartmentSecretary to Chief	FRED E. SIMON LEWIS L. JOHNSON		

FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief	HARRY E. VOSHELL
First Assistant Chief	HARRY H. FULMER
First Assistant Chief	FRED C. KENNEDY
Secretary	HARRY R. GOULD
FIRE PREVENTION BU	REAU .
Chief	_BERNARD A. LYNCH
Secretary to Chief	FRED A. HEATON
PURCHASING DEPARTI	MENT
Purchasing Agent	_ALBERT H. LOSCHE
Assistant Purchasing Agent	WALLACE A. JUTT
Chief Clerk	
Inspector	JOHN A. LOGAN
BUILDING DEPARTME	ent
Commissioner	
Structural Engineer	J. M. HENRY
Combustion Engineer	GEORGE R. POPP, JR.
Chief Clerk	THEODORE SCHORY
BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSME	NT BUREAUS
Chief Clerk	
Board Clerk	CECIL McCONAHAY
STREET COMMISSIONER'S DE	EPARTMENT
Street Commissioner	WILBUR H. WINSHIP
Three Assistant Commissioners	MICHAEL O'BRIEN
	FRED EISENHUT THOMAS CONNOR
Chief Clerk and Assistant Commissioner	
	_
MUNICIPAL AIRPOI	RT
Superintendent	CHARLES E. COX, JR.
Assistant Superintendent	E. M. JOHNSTON
Assistant Superintendent	CHARLES M. HACK
iv	

DEPARTMENT OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

Chief Inspector	GROVER C. PARR			
Deputy Inspector	FRANK ARM			
Deputy Inspector	CLARENCE STEWART			
Deputy Inspector				
Deputy Inspector				
PUBLIC BUILDINGS	DEPARTMENT			
Material puntation puntation				
City Hall	BERNARD F. KELLY			
Police Station	SERGEANT JOHN FIELDS			

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS

President______WALTER C. BOETCHER
LOUIS C. BRANDT
CHARLES O. BRITTON

BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

President______CHARLES R. MYERS
FRANK C. DAILEY
DONALD S. MORRIS

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES

President	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Vice-President	DR. LEONARD ENSMINGER
Commissioner	DR. CLARK ROGERS
Commissioner	FRANK G. LAIRD
Secretary	DR. HERMAN G. MORGAN
Chief Clerk	GEORGE TAYLOR
Attorney	LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

BOARD OF CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President_______GEORGE T. O'CONNOR
Vice-President_____LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN
EDNA CHRISTIAN WALTER C. BOETCHER
J. W. ATHERTON BRUCE SHORT
PAUL E. RATHERT A. H. MOORE
GEORGE T. WHELDEN FRED C. GARDNER

STANDING COMMITTEES

COMMON COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 1934.

- 1. Finance Committee—James A. Houck, Chairman; Leo F. Welch, Fred C. Gardner, Clarence I. Wheatley, Maurice E. Tennant.
- 2. Public Works Committee—Clarence I. Wheatley, Chairman; Maurice E. Tennant, Charles C. Morgan, Fred C. Gardner, Leo F. Welch.
- 3. Public Safety Committee—Maurice E. Tennant, Chairman; Clarence I. Wheatley, Leo F. Welch, Charles C. Morgan, Fred C. Gardner.
- 4. Public Health and Charities Committee—Leo F. Welch, Chairman; James A. Houck, George A. Henry, Charles C. Morgan, Maurice E. Tennant.
- 5. Parks Committee—Fred C. Gardner, Chairman; James A. Houck, Clarence I. Wheatley, C. A. Hildebrand, George A. Henry.
- 6. Law and Judiciary Committee—George A. Henry, Chairman; Maurice E. Tennant, Clarence I. Wheatley, C. A. Hildebrand, Charles C. Morgan.
- 7. City Welfare Committee—Carl A. Hildebrand, Chairman; James A. Houck, George A. Henry, Fred C. Gardner.
- 8. Election Committee--Charles C. Morgan, Chairman; Leo F. Welch, George A. Henry, James A. Houck, Carl A. Hildebrand.

THE COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

Vice-Proclerk	esident 	ERNEST C. ROPKEY LEO F. WELCH HENRY O. GOETT ROSEMARY BRENNAN
		COUNCILMEN
First D	istrict	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Second	District	JAMES A. HOUCK
Second	District	MAURICE E. TENNANT
Third D	istrict	LEO F. WELCH
		FRED C. GARDNER
Fourth	District	CHARLES C. MORGAN
		C. A. HILDEBRAND
Fifth D	istrict	CLARENCE I. WHEATLEY
Sixth D	istrict	GEORGE A. HENRY

Calendar of Sessions of the Common Council

	1934 .		Page
1.	January 1, noon	Special	1
2.	January 15, 7:30 P. M	Regular	5
3.	February 5, 7:30 P. M	Regular	51
4.	February 19, 7:30 P. M	Regular	83
5.	March 1, noon (12:30)	Special	103
6.	March 5, 7:30 P. M	Regular	107
7.	March 19, 7:30 P. M	Regular	125
8.	April 2, 7:30 P. M	Regular	139
9.	April 16, 7:30 P. M	Regular	159
10.	May 7, 7:30 P. M	Regular	175
11.	May 21, 7:30 P. M	Regular	187
12.	June 4, 7:30 P. M	Regular	201
13.	June 18, 7:30 P. M	Regular	211
14.	July 2, 7:30 P. M	Regular	219
15.	July 16, 7:30 P. M	Regular	235
16.	August 6, 7:30 P. M	Regular	265
17.	August 20, 7:30 P. M	Regular	279
18.	September 3, 7:30 P. M	Regular	361
19.	September 17, 7:30 P. M	Regular	375
20.	October 1, 7:30 P. M	Regular	407
21.	October 15, 7:30 P. M	Regular	443
22.	November 5, 7:30 P. M	Regular	457
23.	November 19, 7:30 P. M	Regular	473
24.	December 3, 7:30 P. M	Regular	491
25.	December 17, 7:30 P. M	Regular	529
26.	December 29, 12:30 P. M	special	543