JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1937, to December 31, 1937

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana





CITY OFFICIALS

AS	OF	DECE	EMBER,	1937
----	----	------	--------	------

MayorJOHN W.	KERN
City Clerk	LL, JR.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

City Controller	WALTER C.	BOETCHER
Deputy City Controller		

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	FLOYD MATTICE
City Attorney	MICHAEL B. REDDINGTON
Assistant City Attorney	
City Prosecutor	
Investigator, Claim	
Attorney for Board of Healh	
Attorney for Board of Works and	
Sanitation	MICHAEL B. REDDINGTON
Attorney for Board of Park	
Commissiooners	CLYDE E. BAKER

DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER

City Civil Engineer	HENRY BELL STEEG
Assistant City Engineer	
Street Department Head	JAMES E. LOER
Clerical Department Head	JOHN SCHILLING
Sewer Department Head	RAYMOND CASSADY
Flood Prevention Head	HARVEY CASSADY
Inspector Department Head	WILLIAM H. HOLL
Superintendent of Street Repair	CARL DIETZ
Chemical Laboratory Head	C. H. UNDERWOOD
Street Lighting Superintendent	BEN FINEGOLD
Drafting Department Head	FRANK KOSHMIDER

POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police	.MICHAEL F. MORRISSEY
Chief of Detectives	FRED E. SIMON
Captain of Traffic Department	LEWIS L. JOHNSON

Law Library, Indiana University
Indianapolis Division

FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief FRED C. KENNEDY First Assistant Chief HARRY H. FULMER First Assistant Chief ROSCOE McKINNEY Secretary HARRY R. GOULD
FIRE PREVENTION DEPARTMENT
Chief

PURCHASING DEPARTMENT
Purchasing Agent
BUILDING DEPARTMENT
Commissioner
BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSMENT BUREAU
Chief Clerk
STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT
Commissioner FRED EISENHUT Chief Clerk FRED GROSSART
MUNICIPAL AIRPORT
Superintendent

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT

Chief Inspector.......THOMAS P. TARPEY

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

Custodian,	City Hall	ESTEL PORTER
Custodian,	Police StationSERGEANT	FRANK GALLAGHER
Custodian,	Tomlinson Hall	.WILLIAM PRINCELL
Market Ma	ster, City Market	PAUL LINDEMANN

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

President	THEODORE DAMMEYER
Member	JAMES P. SCOTT
Member	EDWARD P. FILLION
Secretary	BLYTHE Q. HENDRICKS

BOARD OF WORKS AND SANITATION

PresidentLOUIS C. BRANDT
MemberROBERT K. EBY
MemberMAURICE TENNANT
MemberTHOMAS MOYNAHAN
SecretaryERNEST F. FRICK

BOARD OF HEALTH AND CHARITIES

President	DR. M. J. BARRY
Vice-President	DR. L. A. ENSMINGER
MemberDR.	GEORGE W. KOHLSTAEDT
Member	
Secretry	DR. HERMAN G. MORGAN

BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

PresidentJACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Vice-PresidentEUGENE W. DARU
MemberMRS. LOUIS MARKUM
MemberPAUL RATHERT
SuperintendentA. C. SALLEE
Recreational DirectorW. H. MIDDLESWORTH
AuditorLOOISE RICH
SecretaryMARY E. GRIFFIN

CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President	GEORGE T. O'CONNOR
Vice-President	GEORGE T. WHELDON
MembersEDNA M. CHRISTIAN	PAUL RATHERT
JOHN W. ATHERTON	HERBERT H. BLOEMKER
WILLIAM A. OREN	HENRY B. STEEG
LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN	VAL B. McLEAY
LOUIS (C. BRANDT

Secretary-Engineer.....VAL B. McLEAY

COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

President	EDWARD B. RAUB
Vice-President	DR. SILAS J. CARR
Clerk	DANIEL J. O'NEILL,JR.
Deputy Clerk	FRATA McCABE

COUNCILMEN

First District	EDWARD B. RAUB
Second District	ROSS H. WALLACE
Second District	JOHN A. SCHUMACHER
Third District	NANNETTE DOWD
Third District	EDWARD R. KEALING
Fourth District	SILAS J. CARR
Fifth District	ADOLPH J. FRITZ
Sixth District	DR. THEODORE CABLE
Sixth District	WILLIAM A. OREN

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE—Ross H. Wallace, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, Nannette Dowd.
- PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Theodore Cable, Chairman; Ross H. Wallace, Silas J. Carr, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- 3. PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE—Silas J. Carr, Chairman; Nannette Dowd, Ross H. Wallace, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- 4. PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE—Adolph J. Fritz, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Nannette Dowd, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- 5. PARKS COMMITTEE—Nannette Dowd, Chairman; Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—William A. Oren, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Ross H. Wallace, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz.
- CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—John A. Schumacher, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz, Ross H. Wallace.
- 8. ELECTION COMMITTEE Edward R. Kealing, Chairman; John A. Schumacher, Silas J. Carr, Ross H. Wallace, Nannette Dowd.

CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

---1937---

		Page
1.	January 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	r age 1
2.	January 18, 7:30 p. mRegular	17
3.	February 1, 7:30 p. mRegular	
4.	February 15, 7:30 p. mRegular	77
5.	March 1, 7:30 p. mRegular	
6.	March 15, 7:30 p. mRegular	125
7.	April 5, 7:30 p. mRegular	
8.	April 19, 7:30 p. mRegular	
9.	May 3, 7:30 p. mRegular	
10.	May 17, 7:30 p. m Regular	
11.	June 7, 7:30 p. mRegular	
12.	June 21, 7:30 p. m	273
13.	July 12, 7:30 p. m	
14.	July 19, 7:30 p. m Regular	313
15.	August 2, 7:30 p. mRegular	
16.	August 16, 7:30 p. mRegular	381
17.	September 6, 7:30 p. m Regular	491
18.	September 20, 7:30 p. m Regular	603
19.	October 4, 7:30 p. mRegular	627
20.	October 7, 4:00 p. mSpecial	663
21.	October 18, 7:30 p. m Regular	667
22.	November 1, 7:30 p. m Regular	699
23.	November 15, 7:30 p. m Regular	
24.	December 6, 7:30 p. m Regular	
25.	December 20, 7:30 p. mRegular	803