JOURNAL

OF THE

Common Council

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1938, to December 31, 1938

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana



Digitized by the Internet Archive in 2013

CITY OFFICIALS

AS OF DECEMBER, 1938

Mayor	WALTER C. BOETCHER
City Clerk	

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

City Controller	H. NATHAN	SWAIM
Deputy City Controller		

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Corporation Counsel	FLOYD J. MATTICE
City Attorney	
Assistant City Attorney	CLYDE E. BAKER
City Prosecutor	JOHN J. COOPER
Investigator, Claim	CAPTAIN MARTIN J. LOGAN
Attorney for Board of Health	CLYDE E. BAKER
Attorney for Board of Works and	
Sanitation	MICHAEL B. REDDINGTON
Attorney for Board of Park	
Commissioners	CLYDE E. BAKER

DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER

City Civil Engineer	HENRY BELL STEEG
Assistant City Engineer	MYRON G. JOHNSON
Street Department Head	JAMES E. LOER
Clerical Department HEAD	JOHN SCHILLING
Sewer Department Head	RAYMOND CASSIDY
Flood Prevention Head	HARVEY CASSIDY
Inspector Department Head	WILLIAM H. HOLL
Superintendent of Street Repair	CARL DEITZ
Chemical Laboratory Head	
Street Lighting Superintendent	BEN FINEGOLD
Drafting Department Head	FRANK KOSHMIDER

POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief of Police	MICHAEL F. MORRISSEY
Chief of Detectives.	FRED E. SIMON
Captain of Traffic Department	LEWIS L. JOHNSON

FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief	HARRY H. FULMER ROSCOE McKINNEY			
-	_			
FIRE PREVENTION	N DEPARTMENT			
Chief				
	_			
PURCHASING D	EPARTMENT			
Purchasing AgentAssistant Purchasing Agent	ALBERT H. LOSCHE RICHARD P. KORBLY			
	_			
BUILDING DEPARTMENT				
Commissioner	JOHN M. HENRY			
	_			
BARRETT LAW AND AS	SSESSMENT BUREAU			
Chief Clerk				
***************************************	<u></u>			
STREET COMMISSION	ER'S DEPARTMENT			
Commissioner				

MUNICIPAL AIRPORT
Superintendent.....I. J. DIENHART

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT

Chief	InspectorTHOMAS	P	. TARPEY
-------	-----------------	---	----------

PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

Custodian, City Hall	ESTEL A. PORTER
Custodian, Police Station	SERGEANT FRANK GALLAGHER
Custodian, Tomlinson Hall	WILLIAM PRINCELL
Market Master, City Market	PAUL LINDEMANN

MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

President	THEODORE DAMMEYER
Member	JAMES P. SCOTT
Member	EDWARD P. FILLION
Secretary	BLYTHE Q. HENDRICKS
· ·	

BOARD OF WORKS AND SANITATION

President	LOUIS C. BRANDT
Member	ROBERT K. EBY
Member	MAURICE TENNANT
Member	THOMAS MOYNAHAN
Secretary	ERNEST F. FRICK

BOARD OF HEALTH AND CHARITIES

President	DR. GEORGE W. KOHLSTAEDT
Vice-President	FRANK G. LAIRD
Member	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Member	DR. L. A. ENSMINGER
Secretary	DR. HERMAN G. MORGAN

BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

President	JACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Vice-President	EUGENE W. DORN
Member	MRS. LOUIS R. MARKUM
Member	PAUL E. RATHERT
Superintendent	A. C. SALLEE
Recreational Director.	H. W. MIDDLESWORTH
Auditor	LOOISE RICH
Secretary	MARY E. GRIFFIN

CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President	GEORGE T.	O'CONNOR
Vice-President	GEORGE T.	WHELDON
MembersEDNA M. CHRISTIAN		

JOHN W. ATHERTON
WILLIAM A. OREN
LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN
LOUIS C. BRANDT
HAUL RATHERT
HERBERT H. BLOEMKER
HENRY B. STEEG
BRANDT

Secretary-Engineer.....VAL B. McLEAY

COMMON COUNCIL

OFFICERS

PresidentEDW	ARD B	. RAUB
Vice-President DR. S	SILAS J	CARR
ClerkDANIEL		
Deputy ClerkFi		,

COUNCILMEN

First District	EDWARD B. RAUB
Second District	ROSS H. WALLACE
Second District	JOHN A. SCHUMACHER
Third District	NANNETTE DOWD
Third District	EDWARD R. KEALING
Fourth District	SILAS J. CARR
Fifth District	ADOLPH J. FRITZ
Sixth District	DR. THEODORE CABLE
Sixth District	WILLIAM A. OREN

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE—Ross H. Wallace, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, Nannette Dowd.
- PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—Theodore Cable, Chairman; Ross H. Wallace, Silas J. Carr, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE—Silas J. Carr, Chairman; Nannette Dowd, Ross H. Wallace, William A. Oren, John A. Schumacher.
- 4. PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE—Adolph J. Fritz, Chairman; Theodore Cable, Nannette Dowd, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- 5. PUBLIC PARKS COMMITTEE—Nannette Dowd, Chairman; Silas J. Carr, Adolph J. Fritz, William A. Oren, Edward R. Kealing.
- LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—William A. Oren, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Ross H. Wallace, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz.
- CITY WELFARE COMMITTEE—John A. Schumacher, Chairman; Edward R. Kealing, Theodore Cable, Adolph J. Fritz, Ross H. Wallace.
- 8. ELECTION COMMITTEE—Edward R. Kealing, Chairman; John A. Schumacher, Silas J. Carr, Ross H. Wallace, Nannette Dowd.

CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

--1938---

			Page
1.	January 1, 12:00 noon	Special	. 1
2.	January 3, 7:30 p. m	Regular	. 5
3.	January 17, 7:30 p. m	Regular	. 21
4.		Regular	
5.		Regular	
6.	March 7, 7:30 p. m	Regular	. 117
7.	March 21, 7:30 p. m	Regular	129
8.	April 4, 7:30 p. m	Regular	157
9.	April 18, 7:30 p. m	Regular	189
10.		Regular	
11.		Regular	
12.	May 27, 5:00 p. m	Special	273
13.	June 6, 7:30 p. m	Regular	285
14.		Regular	
15.	June 22, 4:00 p. m	Special	321
16.	July 1, 10:00 a. m		
17.	July 18, 7:30 p. m	Regular	349
18.	August 1, 7:30 p. m	Regular	389
19.		Regular	
20.		Regular	
21.	September 19, 7:30 p. m	Regular	625
22.		Regular	
23.		Regular	
24.		Regular	
25.	November 21, 7:30 p. m		
26.	December 5, 7:30 p. m	Regular	749
27.		Special	
28.	December 19, 7:30 p. m	Regular	. 797