## **JOURNAL**

OF THE

# Common Council

OF THE

## CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA

FROM

January 1, 1939, to December 31, 1939

Printed and Published Under the Authority of the Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana



である。 1000年 - 1000年 74920

#### CITY OFFICIALS

AS OF DECEMBER, 1939

#### DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

#### DEPARTMENT OF LAW

#### ASSISTANT CITY ATTORNEYS

Attorney for Board of Public Safety........OSCAR C. HAGEMIER
Attorney for Board of Public Works and Sanitation;
Board of Park Commissioners; Board of Flood
Control Commissioners......JOHN J. COOPER
Attorney for City Plan Commission; Building Department; and Common Council......ADOLPH G. EMHARDT, JR.
Attorney for Compensation and Claims....ROBERT C. DEARDORFF
City Prosecutor.........LOUIS P. M. ADAMS
Assistant City Prosecutor.......FORREST W. LITTLEJOHN
Claim Agent...........CAPTAIN MARTIN J. LOGAN

#### DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL ENGINEER

INDIANA UNIVERSITY
INDIANAPOLIS LAW SCHOOL
LIBRARY

#### POLICE DEPARTMENT

Chief	of	Police	.MICHAEL F.	M	OR	RISSE	Y
Chief	of	Detectives	FRI	ΞD	E.	SIMO	V
Capta	in (	of Traffic Department	LEWIS	L.	JO:	HNSO	V

#### FIRE DEPARTMENT

Chief	FRED C. KENNEDY
First Assistant Chief.	HARRY H. FULMER
First Assistant Chief	ROSCOE McKINNEY
Secretary	HARRY R. GOULD

#### FIRE PREVENTION DEPARTMENT

Chief	,	BERNARD	A.	LYNCH
Secretary to	Chief	FRANCIS	McN	AMARA

#### PURCHASING DEPARTMENT

Purchasing Agent	.ALBERT	H.	LOSCHE
Assistant Purchasing Agent	RICHARD	P.	KORBLY

#### BUILDING DEPARTMENT

Commissioner	GEORGE R. POPP, JR.
Structural Engineer	
Combustion Engineer	

#### BARRETT LAW AND ASSESSMENT BUREAU

Chief ClerkGE	ORGE	D.	YEAZEL
Senior Clerk	ECIL M	McC(	ONAHAY

#### STREET COMMISSIONER'S DEPARTMENT

Commissioner	WIL	BUR	ιн.	WINSHIP
Chief Clerk	JOHN	A. V	VEI:	NBRECHT

#### MUNICIPAL AIRPORT

Superintendent	I.	J.	DIENHART
----------------	----	----	----------

#### WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT

Chief Inspector.....THOMAS P. TARPEY

#### PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT

Custodian, City Hall	WILLIAM WALKER
Custodian, Police StationSERO	GEANT FRANK GALLAGHER
Custodian, Tomlinson Hall	WILLIAM PRINCELL
Market Master, City Market	PAUL LINDEMANN

#### MEMBERS OF OFFICIAL BOARDS

#### BOARD OF SAFETY

President	LEROY KEACH
Member	FRANK B. ROSS
Member	DONALD S. MORRIS
Secretary	EDNA H. ALLEN

#### BOARD OF WORKS AND SANITATION

President	LOUIS C. BRANDT
Vice-President	LEO F. WELCH
Member	MAURICE E. TENNANT
Member	
Secretary	MARTIN WALPOLE

#### BOARD OF HEALTH AND CHARITIES

PresidentI	OR. GEORGE W. KOHLSTAEDT
Vice-President	FRANK G. LAIRD
Member	DR. M. JOSEPH BARRY
Member	DR. L. A. ENSMINGER
Secretary	

#### BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

President	JACKIEL W. JOSEPH
Vice-President	A. H. GISLER
Member	MRS. LOUIS R. MARKUM
Member	PAUL E. RATHERT
Superintendent	A. C. SALLEE
Recreational Director	
Auditor	LOOISE RICH
Secretary	MARY E. GRIFFIN

#### CITY PLAN COMMISSION

President	GEORGE T. O'CONNOR
Vice-President	GEORGE T. WHELDON
MembersEDNA M. CHRISTIAN	LOUIS J. BORINSTEIN
JOHN W. ATHERTON	HARMON A. CAMPBELL
MYRON G. JOHNSON	PAUL RATHERT
JOHN RYAN	LOUIS C. BRANDT
Secretary-Engineer	GEORGE ROOKER

## COMMON COUNCIL

#### OFFICERS

President	JOSEPH G. WOOD
Vice-President	GUY O. ROSS
Clerk	JOHN M. LAYTON
Deputy Clerk	BERTHA A. MEYERS

#### COUNCILMEN

First District	JOSEPH G. WOOD
Second District	HARMON A. CAMPBELL
Second District	ALBERT O. DELUSE
Third District	GUY O. ROSS
Fourth District	ERNEST C. ROPKEY
Fifth District	RALPH F. MOORE
Fifth District	OLLIE A. BACH
Sixth DistrictDI	R. WALTER E. HEMPHILL
Sixth District	F. B. RANSOM

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. FINANCE COMMITTEE—Ernest C. Ropkey, Chairman; F. B. Ransom, Albert O. Deluse, Ollie A. Bach, Guy O. Ross.
- PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE—F. B. Ransom, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, Albert O. Deluse, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Harmon A. Campbell.
- PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE—Albert O. Deluse, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, F. B. Ransom, Harmon A. Campbell, Ralph F. Moore.
- 4. PUBLIC HEALTH AND CHARITIES COMMITTEE—Ollie A. Bach, Chairman; Albert O. Deluse, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Harmon A. Campbell.
- 5. PARKS COMMITTEE—Guy O. Ross, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, F. B. Ransom, Harmon A. Campbell, Ralph F. Moore.
- 6. LAW AND JUDICIARY COMMITTEE—Harmon A. Campbell, Chairman; F. B. Ransom, Ollie A. Bach, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill.
- 7. ELECTIONS COMMITTEE—Ralph F. Moore, Chairman; Albert O. Deluse, Ollie A. Bach, Guy O. Ross, Dr. Walter E. Hemphill.
- 8. CITY'S WELFARE COMMITTEE—Dr. Walter E. Hemphill, Chairman; Ernest C. Ropkey, Albert O. Deluse, Ollie A. Bach, Ralph F. Moore.

### CALENDAR OF SESSIONS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

-1939-

			Page
1.	January 2, 7:30 P. M	Regular	1
2.	January 16, 7:30 P. M	Regular	5
3.	January 30, 7:30 P. M	Special	21
4.	February 6, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	25
5.	February 20, 7:30 P. M	Regular	41
6.	February 24, 12:00 Noon	Special	53
7.	March 6, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	61
8.	March 20, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	77
9.	April 3, 7:30 P. M	Regular	97
10.	April 17, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	121
11.	May 1, 7:30 P. M	Regular	137
12.	May 15, 7:30 P. M	Regular	153
13.	June 5, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	177
14.	June 19, 7:30 P. M	Regular	205
<b>15.</b>	July 3, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	245
16.	July 17, 7:30 P. M	Regular	269
17.	August 7, 7:30 P. M		
18.	August 21, 7:30 P. M		
19.	September 4, 7:30 P. M	Regular	429
20.	September 18, 7:30 P. M	Regular	557
21.	September 20, 12:00 Noon	Special	581
22.	October 2, 7:30 P. M	Regular	633
23.	October 16, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	665
24.	November 6, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	689
25.	November 20, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	729
26.	December 4, 7:30 P. M	.Regular	753
27.	December 18, 7:30 P. M	Regular	777
28.	December 27, 12:00 Noon	Special	809