Council Chamber
Indianapolis, May 1st. 1849.

The Councilmen elected on Saturday April 28th 1849, in pursuance of the charter of the City of Indianapolis, met at the Council Chamber in said City on Tuesday the first day of May 1849, presented their credentials with the proper oaths of Office endorsed thereon, and took their seats as follows.

From the lst. Ward -- Harvey Bates

" " 2nd. " -- James Gillespie

" " 3rd. " -- Cornelius King

" " 4th. " -- Samuel S. Rooker

" " 5th. " -- James Sulgrave

" " 6th. " -- William Eckert

" " 7th. " -- William Montague

And organized by the election of William Eckert as President on the 4th ballot, and James G. Jordan as Secretary on the 1st. ballot.

The Council then proceeded to the election of other officers which resulted as follows.

James H. Kennedy -- Treasurer Sims A Colley -- Marshall

Jacob B.Fitler -- Commissioner of Streets

Henry Ohr -- Assessor
E. Coburn -- City Attorney

Hiram Sibert -- Messenger to the Fire Depart.

Jacob Miller -- Clerk East & West market.

All of whom were elected for the term of one year, and until their successors are elected and qualified.

Mr. Montague presented resolutions adopted and signed by the Butchers of the City prohibiting the sale of Stalls in either Market House to those who have meat to dispose of, for a less term than one year, in which resolutions they ask the concurrence of the Council.

On Motion by Mr. Rooker. The resolutions were laid upon the table.

And the Council adjourned to meet on Wonday the 7th inst. at 2 o'clock P. M.

Attest

Jas. G. Jordan (William Eckert Secretary) President of the City Council

