JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

COMMON COUNCIL

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS,

In Marion County, in the State of Indiana.

FIRST REGULAR MEETING.

Council Chamber, City of Indianapolis, Ind.
Monday, January 1, 1906, 7:30 p. m.

The records and files in the office of the City Clerk of the City of Indianapolis, a city located in Marion County in the State of Indiana, and governed by and under an act of the General Assembly of said State entitled, "An act concerning municipal corporations," approved March 6, 1905 (see laws 64th Regular Session, Chapter 129, pages 219 to 410 and commonly called "The Cities and Towns Act,") showing that at the election held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November, 1905, being the 7th day of said month, the following officers of said city were duly elected, all of whom have qualified according to said act, to-wit:

CHARLES A. BOOKWALTER, Mayor. JAMES McNULTY, City Clerk. THOMAS C. WHALLON, Police Judge.

Councilmen-at-Large.

BENJAMIN A. BROWN. CHARLES G. DAVIS. CHARLES L. HARTMANN. OTTO HOFMANN. HENRY C. SMITHER. ALBERT E. UHL.

Councilmen Representing the Fifteen Wards.

ALBERT E. COTTEY, First Ward.
JOHN H. HAMLET, Second Ward.
JOHN F. WOOD, Third Ward.
FREDERICK W. EPPERT, FOURTH WARD.
WILLIAM J. NEUKOM, Fifth Ward.
WILLIAM A. RHODES, Sixth Ward.
WENDELL O. BANGS, Seventh Ward.
EDWARD J. STICKELMAN, Eighth Ward.
THEODORE PORTTEUS, Ninth Ward.
HARRY E. ROYSE, Tenth Ward.
JOHN L. DONAVAN, Eleventh Ward.
JAMES F. SULLIVAN, TWEITH WARD.
JACOB H. HILKENE, Thirteenth Ward.
FAY WRIGHT, FOURTEENTH WARD.
LOUIS F. HENRY, Fifteenth Ward.

The Common Council held its first meeting on the first Monday in January, 1906, at 7:30 pm. in the Council Chamber, located in the Police Station, and was called to order by James McNulty, City Clerk, who called the roll of the six Councilmenat-Large and the fifteen Ward Councilmen, all of whom answered to their respective names except Councilmen John L. Donavan and Otto Hofmann.

The City Clerk announced nineteen members present, and stated the first business in order to be the election of a presiding officer.

Whereupon Councilman Neukom placed in nomination Frederick W. Eppert, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Davis.

Councilman Wright placed in nomination James F. Sullivan, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Henry.

Mr. Bangs moved that as the roll is called each Councilman answer, indicating his choice for President.

The Clerk then called the roll, which resulted as follows:

Those voting for Mr. Eppert 14, viz.: Messrs. Bangs, Brown, Cottey, Davis, Hamlet, Hartmann, Neukom, Rhodes, Royse, Smither, Stickelman, Sullivan, Uhl and Wood.

Those voting for Mr. Sullivan 5, viz.: Messrs. Eppert, Henry, Hilkene, Portteus and Wright.

City Clerk McNulty announced the result of the vote, and Councilman Sullivan moved that the election of Mr. Eppert be made unanimous.

Which motion prevailed, and City Clerk McNulty declared Councilman Eppert duly elected President of the Common Council.

At 7:40 P. M., Councilman Donavan entered the Council Chamber and took his seat.

Whereupon the President took the chair, and, after briefly addressing the Council, announced as the next order of business the election of a presiding officer pro tem.

Councilman Royse placed in nomination Albert E. Cottey, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Bangs.

Councilman Wright placed in nomination Jacob H. Hilkene, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Sullivan.

The roll was then called, which resulted as follows:

City Clerk McNulty announced the result of the ballot, and Councilman Hilkene moved that the election of Mr. Cottey be made unanimous, which motion prevailed, and President Eppert declared Councilman Cottey elected President pro tem of the Common Council.

MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS.

Mr. Royse moved that a special committee on rules, consisting of five members be appointed by the President, and the rules of the preceding Council be adopted, pending a report of the committee.

Which motion prevailed, and President Eppert appointed the following committee: Messrs. Royse, Cottey, Rhodes, Neukom and Sullivan.

Councilman Hofmann entered the Council Chamber and took his seat prior to adjournment.

On motion of Mr. Sullivan, the Common Council, at 7:50

o'clock, P. M., adjourned.

ATTEST:

City Clerk.

ADEE UNION COUNCIL 12