JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

COMMON COUNCIL

OF THE

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS,

In Marion County, in the State of Indiana,

FIRST REGULAR MEETING.

COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, IND.

MONDAY, January 2, 1911, 7:30 p. m.

Pursuant to Section 49 of "An Act concerning municipal corporations," approved March 6, 1905 (see Laws 64th Regular Session, Chapter 129, pages 219 to 410, and commonly called "The Cities and Towns Act"), the Common Council held its first meeting on the first Monday in January, 1911, at 7:30 p. m., in the Council Chamber, located in the Police Station, and was called to order by Edward A. Ramsay, City Clerk, who called the roll of the nine Councilmen-at-Large, all of whom answered to their respective names, viz.: Messrs. Johnson, McCarthy, Copeland, Rubens, Denny, Owen, Stilz, Blumberg and Troy.

The City Clerk announced nine members present, and stated the first business in order to be the election of a presiding officer.

Whereupon Councilman Copeland placed in nomination John Blumberg, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Rubens.

Councilman Stilz placed in nomination James E. Troy, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Denny.

Mr. Owen moved that the nominations for President be closed. Carried.

The Clerk then called the roll, which resulted as follows:

Those voting for Mr. Blumberg, 5, viz.: Messrs: McCarthy, Copeland, Rubens, Owen and Blumberg.

Those voting for Mr. Troy, 4, viz.: Messrs. Johnson, Denny, Stilz and Troy.

City Clerk Ramsay announced the result of vote and declared Councilman Blumberg elected President of the Common Council for the year 1911.

City Clerk Ramsay appointed Messrs. Owen and McCarthy to escort Mr. Blumberg to the chair.

Whereupon the President took the chair, and, after briefly addressing the Council, announced as the next order of business the election of a presiding officer pro tem.

Councilman Owen placed in nomination Charles F. Copeland, which nomination was seconded by Councilman McCarthy.

Councilman Denny placed in nomination James E. Troy, which nomination was seconded by Councilman Stilz.

Mr. Owen moved the nominations be closed. Carried.

The Clerk called the roll, which resulted as follows:

Those voting for Mr. Copeland, 5, viz.: Messrs. McCarthy, Copeland, Rubens, Owen and President John Blumberg.

Those voting for Mr. Troy, 4, viz.: Messrs. Johnson, Denny, Stilz and Troy.

President Blumberg announced the result of the vote and declared Councilman Copeland elected Vice-President of the Common Council for the year 1911.

President Blumberg announced that the present rules of the Common Council would stand until such time as the Council should see fit to change them.

President Blumberg announced the following standing committees for the year 1911:

Finance—Fred C. Owen, Charles F. Copeland, George L. Denny, George B. Rubens, Frank E. McCarthy.

Fees and Salaries—Charles B. Stilz, Fred C. Owen, William H. Johnson, George B. Rubens, James E. Troy.

Public Health and Morals—George B. Rubens, James E. Troy, George L. Denny, Charles B. Stilz, William H. Johnson.

Public Service—William H. Johnson, Fred C. Owen, Charles F. Copeland, George B. Rubens, Frank E. McCarthy.

Public Improvements—Frank E. McCarthy, James E. Troy, Charles B. Stilz, Charles F. Copeland, William H. Johnson.

Ordinances—George L. Denny, Fred C. Owen, Charles B. Stilz, Charles F. Copeland, Frank E. McCarthy.

Investigation and Impeachment—Charles F. Copeland, Fred C. Owen, George L. Denny, James E. Troy, Frank E. McCarthy.

Elections—James E. Troy, George B. Rubens, George L. Denny, Charles B. Stilz, William H. Johnson.

Mr. Copeland moved a rising vote of thanks be given Councilman Johnson for his courteous treatment as President of the Council during the year 1910.

Which motion carried unanimously by the members rising to their feet.

On motion of Mr. Owen, the Common Council, at 8:07 o'clock P. M., adjourned.

President.

TIEST:

City Clerk.

TRADES UNION COUNCIL 12