PROCEEDINGS OF JOINT CONVENTION.

FIRST SESSION-JANUARY 6, 1888.

The Common Council and Board of Aldermen of the City of Indianapolis, convened in first Joint Convention, in the Council Chamber, Friday evening, January 6th, A. D. 1888, at eight o'clock, in compliance with the provisions of Section 4, of the following Act of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, approved March 8th, 1881;

An Act supplemental to an act approved March 14th, 1867, entitled "An act to repeal all general laws now in force for the incorporation of cities, and to provide for the incorporation of cities, prescribing their powers and rights. and the manner in which they shall exercise the same, and to regulate such other matters as pertain thereto."

On motion of Councilman Pearson, Alderman Wright was called to the Chair, to act as temporary President.

On motion of Councilman Thalman, John W. Bowlus, City Clerk, was appointed temporary Secretary of the Joint Convention.

The roll of the members of the Board of Aldermen and Common Council having been called, showed that the following members of the Joint Convention were present:

Aldermen Clark, Connett, Laut, Rail, Reynolds, Smith, Taylor, Tousey, and President Wright-9; Councilmen Burns, Cummings, Davis, Dunn, Elliott, Finch, Gasper, Gaul, Hicklin, Johnston, Kelley, Long, Markey, McClelland, O'Connor, Parkinson, Pearson, Smith, Stuckmeyer, Swain, Thalman, Trusler, and Wilson -23. Total present, 32. Absent, 3.

The Chair announced that nominations for a permanent President of the Joint Convention was in order.

Councilman Thalman placed in nomination Hon. Caleb S. Denny, Mayor.

Councilman Kelley placed in nomination Alderman John Rail.

The Chair appointed Alderman Connett and Councilman Burns as tellers.

A ballot was then had, which resulted as follows :

Caleb S. Denny, Mayor, received 19 votes. Alderman John Rail received 11 votes.

Hon. Caleb S. Denny, Mayor, having received a majority of all the votes cast, was declared by the Chair as duly elected permanent Presipent for the ensuing term of two years.

sig. 4.

[29]

Whereupon His Honor took the Chair, and assumed the duties of President of the Joint Convention.

On motion by Councilman Pearson, John W. Bowlus, City Clerk, was unanimously elected permanent Secretary of the Joint Convention.

Aldermrn Wright moved that the Joint Convention proceed to elect a Board of Public Improvements, a Hospital Board and a Dispensary Board, in the order named.

Which was agreed to.

For Board of Public Improvements, Alderman Reynolds placed in nomination Councilmen McClelland, Wilson and Parkinson.

There being no further nominations, on motion by Alderman Rail, it was ordered that the Secretary cast the unanimous vote of the Joint Convention for Councilmen McClelland, Wilson and Parkinson.

Which was done, and they were declared by the President duly elected members of the Board of Public Improvements for the ensuing term of two years.

For Hospital Board, Alderman Tousey placed in nomination Councilmen Smith, Davis and O'Connor.

There being no further nominations, on motion, the Secretary was instructed to cast the unanimous vote of the Convention for Councilmen Smith, Davis and O'Connor.

Which was done, and they were declared by the President duly elected members of the Hospital Board for the ensuing term of two years.

For Dispensary Board, Alderman Smith placed in nomination Councilmen Dunn, Long and Markey.

There being no further nominations, on motion, the Secretary was instructed to cast the unanimous vote of the Convention for Councilmen Dunn, Long and Markey.

Which was done, and they were declared by the President duly elected members of the Dispensary Board for the ensuing term of two years.

On motion by Councilman Pearson, the Joint Convention then adjourned, subject to the call of the President.

, Mayor, President. when , City Clerk, Secretary.

PROCEEDINGS OF COMMON COUNCIL.

SPECIAL SESSION—JANUARY 6, 1888.

The Common Council of the City of Indianapolis, met in the Council Chamber, Friday evening, January 6th, A. D. 1888, at 8:30 o'clock, in special session, pursuant to the following call:

To Hon. C. S. DENNY, Mayor of the City of Indianapolis :

You are hereby requested to call a special meeting of the Common Council for Friday evening, January 6th, 1888, at 8:30 o'clock, for the transaction of such usiness as may come before it.

Isaac Thalman, John R. Pearson, R. McClelland, Edward Dunn, E. B. Elliott.

In obedience to the a bove request, I hereby call the Common Council to meet in special session, in the Council Chamber, on Friday evening, January 6th, 1888, at 3:30 o'clock, for the transaction of such business as may come before it.

C. S. DENNY, Mayor.

PRESENT—Hon. Caleb S. Denny, Mayor, and ex officio President of the Common Council, in the Chair, and 23 members, viz: Councilmen Buros, Cummings, Davis, Dunn, Elliott, Finch, Gasper, Gaul, Hicklin, Johnston, Kelley, Long, Markey, McClelland, O'Connor, Parkinson, Pearson, Smith, Stuckmeyer, Swain, Thalman, Trusler, and Wilson.

ABSENT, 2-viz: Councilmen Coy, and Darnell.

Councilman Thalman, on behalf of the Finance Committee, submitted the following report; which was adopted:

To the Mayor and City Council:

n.

n

ed

d.

Gentlemen:—Your Committee on Finance, to whom was referred a matter relating to the furnishing of telephones for the new police stations, report that the Police Commissioners have contracted with the company at \$30 00 per annum, which we consider very reasonable, and recommend that the resolution presented at the last meeting, be adopted. Also, that the resolution herewith submitted, be passed. Respectfully, Isaac Thalman,

John R. Pearson, Edward Dunn, C. H. Stuckmeyer, Thomas Markey.

Councilman Thalman offered the following resolution :

Resolved, That the contract dated December 16th, 1887, between the Board of Metropolitan Police Commissioners and the Central Union Telephone Company, for the police patrol telephone system, be, and the same is hereby approved.

Which was adopted, by the following vote:

AYES, 23-viz: Councilmen Burns, Cummings, Davis, Dunn, Elliott, Finch, Gasper, Gaul, Hicklin, Johnston, Kelley, Long, Markey, McClelland, O'Connor, Parkinson, Pearson, Smith, Stuckmeyer, Swain, Thalman, Trusler, and Wilson.

NAYS-None.

Attest :

Councilman Thalman offered the following motion; which was unanimously adopted:

That Councilman John R. Pearson be, and he is hereby, appointed Vice President of the Common Council for the ensuing term.

On motion by Councilman O'Connor, the following entitled ordinance was recalled from the former Committee on Railroads, and referred to the present Committee on Railroads:

G. O. 43, 1887—An ordinance requiring the C., I., St. L. & C. Railroad Company to station and maintain a Flagman at the crossing of its tracks and Reid street and Dillon street.

Councilman Davis offered the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Water:

Resolved, That the Indianapolis Water Company be, and is hereby, directed to lay water mains on Minerva street, between New York and North streets, and to locate one hydrant for every five hundred (500) feet of pipe so extended; all to be done under the direction of the Chief Fire Engineer. And the City Clerk is hereby directed to notify said Indianapolis Water Company of this action.

On motion, the Common Council then adjourned.

, Mayor,

President of the Common Council.

itv Clerk.