HISTORY OF SCIENCE

Chairman: John J. Favinger,
Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

WILLIAM R. EBERLY, Department of Biology, Manchester College, North Manchester, Indiana 46962, was elected Chairman for 1974

ABSTRACTS

Indiana Women in Mathematics, WILLIAM E. EDINGTON, DePauw University, Greencastle, Indiana 46135.—The first earned Ph.D. degrees in Mathematics conferred by both Indiana University and Purdue University were conferred on women. Indiana University conferred its first Ph.D. degree in Mathematics on Cora B. Hennel in 1912. Purdue University conferred its first Ph.D. in Mathematics on Cleota G. Fry in 1939. Cora B. Hennel (1886-1947) taught mathematics at Indiana University from 1908 to 1947 and attained the rank of Professor in 1936. Cleota G. Fry has been a member of the Mathematics Department at Purdue since receiving the doctorate. The first woman to be Head of a Department at a State School in Indiana was Mrs. Lizzie S. Byers who was Head of the Department of Mathematics in the Indiana State Normal School, in Terre Haute, from 1890 to 1893. Mrs. Byers had Elizabeth Long as an Assistant in the Department. Cora B. Hennel was one of the 30 Charter Members from Indiana in the organization of the Mathematical Association of America in December, 1915, with a Charter Membership of 1,045, of whom approximately 1/8 were women. Four other Indiana women, Juna Lutz Beal, Butler University, Olive M. Draper, Taylor University, Florence Long, Earlham College, and Inez Morris, Indiana State University, have made outstanding contributions to education in Mathematics as Heads of the Departments of Mathematics in their respective institutions.

Indiana Contributions to the National Plant Board. John J. FAVINGER, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204. -The National Plant Board (NPB) is a policy making and advisory group of state plant regulatory officials established in 1925. It is a small action group of eight members, two each from the four regional plant boards: The Western, Southern, Eastern and Central. A total of 90 individuals have served on the NPB. The State Entomologist is Indiana's representative to the Central Plant Board (CPB). Frank N. Wallace, State Entomologist 1915-1958 was one of the original members of the NPB and served 1925 through 1927. The incumbent John J. Favinger has been a CPB representative to the NPB for 5 years and is presently secretary-treasurer. Other men who have played an important role were native Hoosiers: Dr. T. J. Headlee, a native of White County, was educated at Indiana State Normal College and Indiana University and while at Rutgers University was instrumental in the formation of the Eastern Plant Board and the National Plant Board, serving as a representative to the latter from 1937 through 1942. John W. Baringer, long-time Chief of the Division of Plant Industry, Ohio Department of Agriculture, served on the NPB from 1957 through 1960. He was born at Jamestown, Indiana, and graduated from Wabash College in 1918. The 47th annual meeting of the NPB was held at the Speedway Motel, Indianapolis, August 21-23, 1973, marking the first time a meeting of the group had been held in Indiana.